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PETITION FOR DISSOLUTION OF NON-COVENANT MARRIAGE 
(DIVORCE) WITH MINOR CHILDREN 

 
CHECKLIST 

 
 

You may use the forms and instructions in this packet if… 
 
 You want to file a petition for divorce AND, 

 
 You do not have a “covenant marriage” (These papers will not work for a covenant marriage)* 

AND, 
 

*What is a “Covenant Marriage?” As of August 21, 1998, the Arizona Legislature created a 
new type of marriage called “covenant” marriage. To have a covenant marriage, both 
husband and wife would have had to: 
 

1. Sign papers requesting to have a covenant marriage; 
2. Attend Pre-Marital counseling; AND 
3. Your marriage license would say “Covenant Marriage.” 

 
 If you were married before August 21, 1998 and have not signed papers to convert your 
 marriage to a covenant marriage, you do not have a covenant marriage. If you still have 
 questions about whether you have a covenant marriage, see a lawyer for help. 
 

 You and your spouse have minor children with each other OR the wife is pregnant by the 
husband AND, 

 

 The minor child(ren) resided (lived) in Arizona at least 6 months before you file the petition or you 
talked to a lawyer who advised you that you could pursue the case in Arizona AND, 

 

 Either spouse lived in Arizona at least 90 days before you file the Petition, or is a member of the 
armed forces and is stationed in Arizona at least 90 days before you file AND, 

 
 You believe that the marriage is irretrievably broken (you and your spouse cannot make this 

marriage work) AND, 
 

 You or your spouse has tried to resolve your marital problems through Conciliation Services, or 
there is no point in trying to resolve your marital problems. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

READ ME: It is very important for you to know that when you sign a court document, you may be 
helping or hurting your court case.  Before you sign any court document, or get involved with a court case, it 
is important that you see a lawyer to make sure you are doing the right thing. 
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DIVORCE WITH MINOR CHILDREN 

 
This packet contains general information and instructions about filing a divorce petition for a non-
covenant marriage and other court papers when there are minor children.  Be sure this packet contains 
the following documents: 
 
 
 

 
Order Title # of Pages 

1 Checklist: Use these forms if… 1 

2 Table of Contents (this page) 1 

3 
Instructions: How to Fill Out “Petition for Dissolution of Marriage with 
Children” 

7 

4 Procedures: How to file Divorce Papers with the Court 2 

5 “Family Court Cover Sheet” (*NO COPIES REQUIRED) 2 

6 “Sensitive Data Sheet” (*NO COPIES REQUIRED) 2 

7 “Summons” 2 

8 “Preliminary Injunction” 2 

9 
“Petition for Dissolution of Non-Covenant Marriage (Divorce) with Minor 
Children” 

8 

10 “Notice of Right to Convert Health Insurance” 1 

11 “Court Order” for Parent Education Class & Conciliation Services 
(Provided at the time of Filing Petition with the Clerk’s office) 

2 

12 “Affidavit Regarding Minor Children” 2 

13 “Notice Regarding Creditors” 2 

14 “Parenting Plan” 7 

15 “Child Support Calculator” 1 

*NO COPIES REQUIRED. File original only. Do not serve on other party. 
 
 
 

You have permission to use these documents for any lawful purpose.  These forms shall not be used to engage in the 
unauthorized practice of law.  The Court assumes no responsibility and accepts no liability for actions taken by users 
of these documents, including reliance on their contents.  The documents are under continual revision and are 
current only for the day they were received. It is strongly recommended that you verify on a regular basis that you 
have the most current documents. 
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INSTRUCTIONS 

How to Fill Out Papers for Dissolution of 
 A Non-Covenant Marriage (Divorce) With Minor Children 

 

DOMESTIC VIOLENCE: Domestic violence can be part of any marriage. Domestic violence includes physical 
violence such as hitting, slapping, pushing or kicking or threats of physical violence directed against you 
and/or your children and/or verbal abuse used to control you and/or your children.  
 
Court documents request your address and phone number. If you are a victim of domestic violence, and you 
do not want your address to be known to protect yourself or your children from further violence, you must file 
a “Petition for an Order of Protection” and ask that your address not be disclosed on court papers.  With 
that Order, you do not need to put your address and phone number on your divorce papers.  Just write 
"protected" in the space on the form where you are asked for this information.  You must tell the Clerk of the 
Court your address and phone number as soon as possible so the court can get in touch with you.  The court 
will keep your address protected. 
 
(ALL FORMS: TYPE OR PRINT IN BLACK INK) 
 
FAMILY COURT COVER SHEET 

 The Family Court Cover Sheet is REQUIRED to be completed and filed in Pinal County. 
 Write in the information requested about the petitioner, respondent and any children under the 

age of 18. 
 DO NOT INCLUDE MAILING ADDRESS ON THIS FORM IF REQUESTING ADDRESS 

PROTECTION. 
 Case Type: Mark only one box that matches the legal procedure for which you are filing the 

documents in this packet:   [x] Dissolution (Divorce) 
 Interpreter: Check “yes” or “no” to indicate whether an interpreter is needed.  If “yes,” write in what 

language(s).  
 No additional copies needed. Do NOT serve this document on the other party. 

 

SENSITIVE DATA SHEET 
 Write in the information requested about petitioner, respondent, and any children under the age of 

18.   
 DO NOT INCLUDE MAILING ADDRESS ON THIS FORM IF REQUESTING ADDRESS 

PROTECTION. 
 No additional copies needed.  Do NOT serve this document on the other party. 

 
SUMMONS AND PRELIMINARY INJUNCTION 
Fill in the following information: Your name, street address (if not protected), city, state, zip code, telephone 
number, ATLAS number, name of Petitioner (your name, name of Respondent (your spouse's name).  You will 
have an ATLAS number ONLY if you receive or have received AFDC or other public benefits for your minor 
child(ren) that are common to you and your spouse. If you are represented by an attorney, write in the 
attorney’s bar number.  Tell the court whether you represent yourself or are represented by an attorney. For 
the “Preliminary Injunction,” be sure to fill out the description of the parties.  
 
PETITION FOR DISSOLUTION OF A NON-COVENANT MARRIAGE (DIVORCE) WITH MINOR CHILDREN 
A. Use this form ONLY if you are getting a divorce and there are children under the age of 18 years 

involved who are common to you and your spouse, and you have a non-covenant marriage.  Arizona 
laws regarding “covenant” marriages went into effect August 21, 1998. See ARS §25-901. If you have 
a covenant marriage, you and your spouse were asked to sign an affidavit that included a statement 
similar to this: “We solemnly declare that marriage is a covenant between a man and a woman who 
agree to live together as husband and wife for as long as they both live.  We have chosen each other 
carefully.  We understand that a covenant marriage is for life.  If we experience marital difficulties, we 
commit ourselves to take all reasonable efforts to preserve our marriage, including marital counseling. 
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We declare that our marriage will be bound by Arizona law regarding covenant marriages and we 
promise to love, honor and care for one another as husband and wife for the rest of our lives.”  (This 
paperwork will not work if you have a covenant marriage.  If you have questions about whether you 
have a “covenant” marriage, look at your marriage license and/or see a lawyer for help.)  Make sure 
your form is titled “Petition for Dissolution of Non-Covenant Marriage (Divorce) With Children.”   

 

B. In the top left corner of the first page, fill out the following: your name (if you are the person filling out 
the petition and filing the petition with the court), your address (if not protected), your city, state, zip 
code, your telephone number; and your ATLAS number, if you are receiving or have received AFDC 
from the Arizona Department of Economic Security and the attorney bar number if you are 
represented by an attorney. Then check the box to say whether you are represented or not.   

 

C. Fill in your name in the space that says "Name of Petitioner." Remember, you will be the 
PETITIONER through the whole case. (This includes any emergency petitions, temporary petitions, 
and post-divorce decree petitions.)  In the space that says "Name of Respondent," fill in the name of 
your spouse. Your spouse will be the RESPONDENT for the rest of this case. (This includes any 
emergency petitions, temporary petitions, and post-divorce decree petitions.) 

 

D. Leave the space for Case No.                 blank.  When you file your papers, you will receive a case 
number. 

 

STATEMENTS MADE TO THE COURT, UNDER OATH OR BY AFFIRMATION: 
 

1. INFORMATION ABOUT ME, THE PETITIONER.  Fill in your name, address (if not protected), date 
of birth, occupation, and length of time in Arizona. 

 

2. INFORMATION ABOUT MY SPOUSE, THE RESPONDENT.  Fill in your spouse’s name, address, (if 
you know it) date of birth, occupation, and length of time in Arizona.  

 

3. INFORMATION ABOUT YOUR MARRIAGE.  Fill in the date you were married, and the city and state 
where you were married.  If you do not know this information, and you were married in Pinal County, 
you may get a copy of your marriage license from the Clerk of the Court at 971 N. Jason Lopez Circle, 
Bldg A, Florence AZ 85132.  If you were married in another county in Arizona, go to the Clerk of the 
Superior Court at the county seat where you were married.   
 

NEXT:  Read the statements that follow the checkboxes. Check the box for each statement that is 
TRUE.  If any statement is NOT true or if you fail to check the box to indicate the statement is true, 
your case may not proceed.  If the fourth box (regarding legal decision-making) is not checked, the 
Court may not be able to enter orders regarding legal decision-making of the children.   
 

Check the first box to indicate that you do not have a “covenant” marriage.*    
Check the second box to indicate your marriage is irretrievably broken.*   
Check the third box to indicate you have been to marital counseling – or that it would not 
help.* 
Check the fourth box to indicate this court has the power to decide child legal decision-making 
issues.*    

 

*     To have a “Covenant Marriage”, both husband and wife would have had to: 
1. Sign papers requesting to have a covenant marriage or to convert to a covenant marriage,  
2. Attend pre-marital counseling (unless converting an existing marriage to a covenant marriage, AND 
3. Your marriage license would say “Covenant Marriage”. 

 

If you still have questions about whether you have a “covenant” marriage, contact a lawyer for help. 
 

“Irretrievably broken” means that your marriage is broken beyond repair and there is no chance of getting 
back together with your spouse.  

 

“Power to decide legal decision-making.” Generally, the children must have lived in Arizona for the past six 
(6) months, or since birth if younger than 6 months. 
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4. 90-DAY REQUIREMENT.  Before you file for Divorce, this MUST be true. IF IT IS NOT TRUE, YOU 

CANNOT FILE FOR DIVORCE in Arizona until it becomes true. 
 

5. DOMESTIC VIOLENCE.  This tells the court if domestic violence was in the marriage, which affects a 
request for joint legal decision-making, (if you intend to ask for joint legal decision-making).  If you are 
not sure what domestic violence means, see the “Domestic Violence” section on the first page of 
these instructions.  Check the box that applies to your situation. 

 

6. CHILDREN COMMON TO THE PARTIES WHO ARE LESS THAN 18 YEARS OF AGE.  If there are 
no children under the age of 18 born to, or adopted by, you and your spouse, you should use the 
“Petition for Dissolution of a Non-Covenant Marriage - Without Minor Children” Packet.  
Otherwise, check the second box and provide the name, birth date and current home address 
including city, state, and zip code for each minor child born to, or adopted by, you and your spouse. 

 

7. PREGNANCY.  If the wife is NOT pregnant at this time, check the first box and go on.  If the wife is 
pregnant, check the second box.  Fill out the date the baby is due, and fill in any information regarding 
the parents of the unborn child. 

 

INFORMATION ABOUT PROPERTY AND DEBT: The information you give in paragraphs 8a through 9b tells 
the court about your property and debts, and how you think your property and debts should be divided.  

 Community property is generally any property you and your spouse purchased during your 
marriage or paid for during the marriage, no matter who uses the property or who paid the money. 
  

 Unless property was a gift or inheritance, all property gotten (acquired) during the marriage up 
until the time when the Respondent is served with the Petition for Dissolution is generally 
community property, and both you and your spouse are entitled to roughly an equal share of this 
property.   

 
 Community debts or bills are generally any debt you and your spouse acquired during your 

marriage up until the time the Respondent is served with the Petition for Dissolution, no matter 
who spent the money.  

 

 If you have questions, or have a lot of community property or debt, you should speak with an 
attorney BEFORE filing your Petition and other papers. 

 

8.a PROPERTY ACQUIRED DURING THE MARRIAGE.  COMMUNITY PROPERTY.  If you and your 
spouse do not have any property from the marriage, check the first box.  If you and your spouse have 
property together, check the second box.  If you checked the second box, you must tell the court what 
property should go to you and what property should go to your spouse.  Generally, the court will divide 
the property 50-50, unless there are good reasons not to.  It is unlikely that the court will give most or 
all of the property to either spouse, so put some thought into what you think would be a fair division 
before answering this question.  Usually, if you and your spouse cannot decide which spouse should 
receive what property, the court will order that the property be sold and any money received divided 
between you and your spouse. 
 
First, list the property that you want the court to award to you, the Petitioner, and list the property that 
you want the court to award to your spouse, the Respondent.  Put a check in the box that matches the 
property you want to go to which person. You should describe the property thoroughly for identification 
purposes. Use the brand name, model and serial numbers, where applicable. 
 

Types of property: 
a) Real Property (property or home).  Check who you want to get the property.  You can ask the court 

to give you the home, to give the home to your spouse, or to sell the home and divide the  proceeds. 
You should write the complete address of the property under "Real estate located at” Most property 
has a legal description such as "LOT 77, PINE TREE ACRES, according to Book 111 of Maps,” which 
appears on your deed papers. You should use this description. A cemetery plot is considered real 
property.   
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b) Household furniture.  This includes sofas, beds, tables, and so forth. Be specific. 
c) Household furnishings.  This includes things in the house other than furniture, for example: dishes, 

small appliances, rugs, and so forth.  Be specific. 
d) Other.  List things that you want or you want your spouse to have that has not already been listed. 
e) Pension/retirement fund/profit sharing/stock plans/401K.  You and your spouse each generally 

have an interest of up to 50% (one-half) of the other spouse's plan, for the number of years you were 
married.  The longer the marriage, the greater your financial interest in your spouse's plan (up to 50 
percent of the benefits/plan if you have been married the whole time the plan has existed.)  Check this 
box if you want to divide your interest in a retirement or profit sharing/retirement/401K plan.  If you 
check this box, you must see an attorney about a document called a Qualified Domestic Relations 
Order or QDRO.  A QDRO is a very specialized legal document that requires professional 
assistance to prepare.   

f) Motor vehicles.  List the vehicle identification number, the year and make of the car (Ford, Honda) 
and the model (Mustang, Lumina). 

 
8.b. PROPERTY ACQUIRED BEFORE MARRIAGE.  SEPARATE PROPERTY.  If you did not have or 

bring any property into the marriage, check the first box. If your spouse did not have or bring any 
property into the marriage, check the next box. If you or your spouse brought property into the 
marriage or acquired property after the Respondent was served with the Petition for Dissolution, 
check the third and/or fourth box. If you checked the third and/or fourth box, you must tell the court 
what property you brought into the marriage and what property your spouse brought into the marriage. 
 List the property that you want the court to award to you, the Petitioner and list the property that you 
want the court to award to your spouse, the Respondent.  Put a check in the box that matches the 
property you want to go to which person. You should describe the property thoroughly for identification 
purposes. You can use the brand name and model and serial numbers where applicable. 
 

9.a DEBTS INCURRED DURING THE MARRIAGE.  If you and your spouse do not owe money on any 
debts from the marriage, check the first box and go on.  If you and your spouse owe money on any 
debts from the marriage, check the second box.  If you check the second box, tell the court which 
debts you should pay and which debts your spouse should pay.  Generally, the court will attempt to 
make a fair division of the debts.  If you get property that has debt on it, you will probably also be 
given the debt.  Ordering one person to pay all the debt is unusual.  Think about what is a fair division 
of the debts before answering this question. Put enough information to identify each debt.   

 
If you and your spouse have been separated and have acquired new debts on your own since the 
separation and before filing for divorce, you may want the court to order that each of you pay for any 
new debt after the date you separated.  You can make this request on the last page of your Petition 
under Letter I, “Community Debts." 

 

9.b. SEPARATE DEBTS.  DEBTS INCURRED PRIOR TO MARRIAGE.  If you and your spouse did not 
owe money on any debts before you were married, check the first box and GO ON.  If you owed 
money on debts before you were married, check the second box.  If your spouse owed money on 
debts before you were married, check the third box.  If either you or your spouse owe money on any 
debts you or your spouse brought into the marriage, describe the debts, and tell the court which debts 
you should pay and which debts your spouse should pay. 

 
10. TAX RETURNS.  Decide what you want to do about any income tax refund.  Check the box that 

applies to you.  If you have questions about which box you can check, you should see a lawyer, an 
accountant, and/or contact the Internal Revenue Service (IRS). 

 
11. SPOUSAL MAINTENANCE /SUPPORT is the term used to describe money paid from one spouse to 

the other spouse as part of a divorce settlement.  You may know the term as alimony.  Spousal 
maintenance/ support is designed as a safety net for a spouse who cannot provide for his/her needs 
or who meets other requirements listed on the Petition under paragraph 11.  The idea behind spousal 
maintenance/support is that accomplishments during your marriage, including increases in earning 
potential and living standards, are shared and earned by BOTH parties to a marriage. Look at 
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paragraph 11 to see if spousal maintenance/support applies to you or your spouse.  Check as many 
boxes that apply to your situation. Spousal maintenance/support is paid separately from child support 
and is not a substitute for or a supplement to child support. 

 
12. WRITTEN LEGAL DECISION-MAKING AGREEMENT.  Check this box ONLY if you and your 

spouse have a written agreement regarding legal decision-making, parenting time and child support 
that both of you signed BEFORE you filed the “Petition for Dissolution of Marriage.”  If you have 
only discussed these issues and do not have a written agreement, do NOT check this box. 

 
REQUESTS TO THE COURT.  This section requests that the court grant you and your spouse 
your divorce and tells the court other requests you are making: 
 
A. DISSOLUTION.  This is your request to end your non-covenant marriage by a divorce. 
 
B. NAMES.  Write in this section only if you want to use your maiden or former name.  Write in your 

maiden name or former last name in the space provided.  If you are not the person who is requesting 
to have your former name restored, the court must have a written request from the party who wants 
his or her name restored in order to change the name. 

 
C. CHILD LEGAL DECISION-MAKING AND PARENTING TIME: 

C.1. SOLE LEGAL DECISION-MAKING OF MINOR CHILDREN AND PARENTING TIME.  If you 
want sole legal decision-making, check the box that applies, including the parenting time you 
are asking for.  Tell the court whether you want legal decision-making of the minor child(ren) 
to go to you (the Petitioner) or your spouse (the Respondent).  

 
PARENTING TIME:  Check only one box. You can ask that the non-custodial parent (the 
parent having physical legal decision-making of the minor child less than 50% of the time) 
have one of the following types of parenting time. (If you want to know more about legal 
decision-making and parenting time, refer to “Planning for Parenting Time: Arizona’s 
Guide for Parents Living Apart.”  The Guide is available to download for free from the state 
courts’ web page at:    
http://azcourts.gov/Portals/31/ParentingTime/PPWguidelines.pdf 
 
Reasonable parenting time. This suggests an amount of parenting time appropriate to the 
age of the child(ren). The court offers suggested amounts of parenting time, but the amount 
can vary by agreement of both parents.    

 
Supervised parenting time to the non-custodial parent.  You should request supervised 
parenting time if the non-custodial parent cannot adequately care for the minor child(ren) 
without another person present. You may request this if the non-custodial parent has a 
problem with drugs or alcohol; is violent or abusive; or does not have the parenting skills to 
care for the minor child(ren) without another adult present.  Remember, supervised parenting 
time is not intended to punish the parent, but to protect the minor child(ren). 
 
No parenting time to the non-custodial parent. You should mark this option only if the non-
custodial parent has seriously harmed, abused, or otherwise is a serious danger to the minor 
child(ren)’s physical and/or emotional health, or if there is a criminal court order stating no 
contact between the minor child and the non-custodial parent. You may use this as a last 
resort to protect the minor child. 

 OR 
 
C.2. JOINT LEGAL DECISION-MAKING: If you are asking for joint legal decision-making, you 

must file a Joint Legal decision-making Agreement signed by both parents that the court must 
approve.   
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D. CHILD SUPPORT: Tell the court who you think should pay child support. The person who has legal 
decision-making of the minor child(ren), or who has physical care of the minor child(ren) more than 
50% of the time, is the person who should receive the support. The other spouse, often called the 
"non-custodial" parent, must pay the support. The income of the parties generally determines the 
amount of the support according to court guidelines. You must check only one box. 

 
E. INSURANCE AND HEALTH CARE EXPENSES FOR MINOR CHILDREN: Check only one box.  Tell 

the court which parent should provide insurance for the minor children. Whichever parent has the 
most affordable insurance plan available through work, generally should pay for insurance.  
Adjustments can be made to child support to reflect the costs of insurance for the children.  

 
F. TAX EXEMPTION.  Decide how you and your spouse will declare the tax dependency exemptions, for 

which child(ren), for which years.  Federal Tax law also determines this for you.  If you are not sure, 
see a lawyer and/or an accountant for help. 

 
G. SPOUSAL MAINTENANCE/SUPPORT (ALIMONY).  This tells the court that you or your spouse 

should pay money to the other spouse on a monthly basis to help with living expenses.  Check the 
first box if YOU (the Petitioner) will be paying spousal maintenance/support.  Check the second box if 
YOUR SPOUSE (the Respondent) will be paying spousal maintenance/support.  If you or your spouse 
should not pay spousal maintenance/support, do not check either box, and GO ON.  (You can check 
a box only if you checked the same box in the spousal maintenance/support section on page 5, 
paragraph 11.)  If you request spousal maintenance/support, choose what you believe to be a 
reasonable monthly amount and tell the court how long the money should be paid.  Base the amount 
of any request on the receiving party's need and the income of the party paying this money.   

 
Spousal maintenance is not a substitute for, or a supplement to, court ordered child support. 

 
H. COMMUNITY PROPERTY.  This tells the court that your division of the property is fair. 
 
I. COMMUNITY DEBT.  This tells the court that your division of the debt is fair, and that the court should 

divide the debts as requested by you in your Petition.  If you have been separated from your spouse 
long enough that you or your spouse may have additional debts, write down the date of your 
separation on the line provided if you want each spouse to pay his/her debts incurred after you 
separated. 

 
J. SEPARATE PROPERTY and DEBTS.  This states that you will keep the property you owned before 

the marriage and that your spouse will keep the property he/she owned before the marriage.  It also 
says that you will pay your separate debts and your spouse will pay his/her separate debts. 

 
K. OTHER ORDERS: Tell the court anything else you may want ordered that has not been covered in 

your Petition. 
 
OATH OR AFFIRMATION AND VERIFICATION OF PETITIONER: Sign this form in front of a notary public.  
By doing so, you are telling the Court that everything contained in the Petition is true, under penalty of perjury. 
 
NOTICE OF RIGHT TO CONVERT HEALTH INSURANCE 
This is an important document that explains what to do about health care coverage for yourself and your minor 
child(ren). Read it carefully, and be sure a copy is served on your spouse, along with the other divorce papers. 
 
AFFIDAVIT OF MINOR CHILDREN: You must complete this document.  Fill in the information completely and 
to the best of your knowledge. 
 
ORDER and NOTICE REGARDING THE PARENT INFORMATION PROGRAM: This is an important 
document. You and the other parent must attend and complete a class in the Parent Information Program. 
This is a very exciting and wonderful class. It was designed to help you. The purpose of the Parent Information 
Program is to give parents information about the impacts that divorce, the changes in the family unit and court 
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involvement have on minor children involved in a divorce, paternity, or legal decision-making case. This Notice 
applies to all parents who file an action for dissolution of marriage or legal separation, or any paternity 
proceeding, in which a party has requested that the court determine legal decision-making, parenting time or 
support, and to all other domestic relations cases if ordered by the court.  Make sure you read this order and 
notice and serve the other party with it. 
 
NOTICE REGARDING CREDITORS: This is an important document that tells you and your spouse that you 
are responsible for community debts to creditors even though the court order or decree says that only one of 
you (either you or your spouse) are responsible. This notice must be served on your spouse. In addition, read 
this notice to find out how to obtain information from your creditors about account balances. 
 
OTHER IMPORTANT PAPERS IN THIS PACKET: Before you get an order from the Judge you must 
complete the court papers on what you want the Judge to order about child legal decision-making and 
parenting time, and for child support. These court forms, and those prepared by the other party, are what the 
Judge will use when it is time to sign the order about legal decision-making, parenting time and support. You 
can complete the papers about legal decision-making, parenting time and support now, and serve or provide 
copies to the other party. Or, you can complete the papers before the final court hearing date. The Family 
Support Center of the Clerk of the Court will help you with Child Support calculations for the Worksheet. 
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PROCEDURES 

How to File Papers with the Court for Dissolution of a Non-Covenant Marriage 
(Divorce) – With Minor Children 

 
STEP 1: Complete the “Family Court Coversheet” and the “Sensitive Data Sheet” 
  (Do not copy this document) 
 
STEP 2: Make 2 Copies of the following documents after you have filled them out: 

 “Summons” 
 “Preliminary Injunction” 
 “Petition for Dissolution of Non Covenant Marriage (Divorce) With Minor Children” 
 “Notice of Right to Convert Health Insurance” 
 “Order and Notice for the Parent Information Program” 
 “Affidavit Regarding Minor Children” 
 “Notice Regarding Creditors” 
 “Parenting Plan” 
 “Child Support Worksheet” 

 
 

STEP 3: Separate your documents into three (3) sets: 
 

SET 1 - ORIGINALS FOR CLERK OF COURT:
 

 Family Court Coversheet 
 

 Sensitive Data Sheet 

 “Summons” 

 “Preliminary Injunction” 

 “Petition for Dissolution of Marriage…” 
 

 “Notice of Right to Convert Health 
Insurance” 

 “Order and Notice for Parent Information Program” 
 

 “Affidavit Regarding Minor Children” 
 

 “Notice Regarding Creditors” 
 

 “Parenting Plan” 
 

 “Child Support Worksheet” 

 

SET 2 - COPIES FOR SPOUSE:
 
 “Summons” 

 
  “Preliminary Injunction” 

 
 “Petition for Dissolution of Marriage…” 

 
 “Notice of Right to Convert Health Insurance” 
 
 “Order and Notice for Parent Information Program” 

 
 “Affidavit Regarding Minor Children” 

 
 “Notice Regarding Creditors” 

 
 “Parenting Plan” 

 
 “Child Support Worksheet” 

SET 3 – COPIES FOR YOU: 
 

 “Summons” 
 

 “Preliminary Injunction” 
 

 “Petition for Dissolution of Marriage…” 
 

 “Notice of Right to Convert Health Insurance” 
 

 “Order and Notice for Parent Information Program” 
 

 “Affidavit Regarding Minor Children” 
 

 “Notice Regarding Creditors” 

 
 “Parenting Plan” 

 
 “Child Support Worksheet” 
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STEP 4: FILE THE PAPERS WITH THE CLERK OF THE SUPERIOR COURT:   

GO TO the Clerk of Court filing counters at one of the following locations: The court is 
open from 8am-5pm, Monday-Friday. You should go to the Court at least two hours 
before it closes. 

 
    

Pinal County Justice Complex 
971 N. Jason Lopez Circle Bldg. A 

Florence AZ 85132 
(520) 866-5300 

Apache Junction Office 
575 N. Idaho Rd. Suite 109 
Apache Junction, AZ 85119 

(520) 866-5300 
 

Casa Grande Office 
820 E. Cottonwood Lane Bldg. B 

Casa Grande, AZ 85122 
(520) 866-5300 

Mammoth Office 
(Temporarily Closed) 

 
FEES: There is a filing fee for filing this Petition and there may be other charges 
associated with this case. Inquire with the Clerk’s office regarding the filing fee amount or 
go online to http://pinalcountyaz.gov/COSC for a list of current fees.  
 
If you cannot pay these fees, you may request the fee(s) be deferred or waived. The 
Clerk of the Superior Court has the necessary forms to ask for a deferral or waiver. 

  
 NOTE:  With the Application for Deferral, there is a $26 fee and you must provide proof of 

income (copy of your last 2 most recent paystubs). 
 

 PAPERS: Hand all three (3) sets of your court papers to the Deputy Clerk along with the 
filing fee. Cash, VISA/MasterCard debit or credit cards, money order, or personal in-state 
check made payable to the “Clerk of Superior Court” are acceptable forms of 
payment. 

 
 

MAKE SURE YOU GET THE FOLLOWING BACK FROM THE CLERK: 
 

 Your Set of Copies – Conformed stamped  
 Your Spouse's Set of Copies – Conformed stamped 

 
 

STEP 5: Read the packet called “Service of Court Papers” that applies to your situation.  
This will explain how to serve the other party. Remember to file your Affidavit, 
Waiver or Acceptance of Service as soon as the Respondent is served. 
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Arizona Superior Court, Pinal County 
Family Court Cover Sheet 

 
 

 
CASE NUMBER DO 2  Judge   
 
ATLAS NUMBER(S)      
     
      

PETITIONER’S NAME AND ADDRESS   RESPONDENT’S NAME AND ADDRESS 
Name:    Name:  

Address:    Address:  

City/State/Zip:    City/State/Zip:  

Phone Number:    Phone Number:  

Email Address:    Email Address:  

DOB:    DOB:  

PETITIONER’S ATTORNEY   EMERGENCY ORDER SOUGHT 
 
Name/State Bar #:     Order of Protection  

Address:     Temporary Order  

City/State/Zip:     Other   

Phone Number:    
 (Specify) 

 
Do you or the other party need an interpreter?  FEES:    PAID     NOT PAID - REASON 

  Yes     No    Political Subdivision/Government Agency 

If yes, what language:    
 Deferred 
 Waived 

     

 

ACTION REQUESTED Check only one box 

 
DISSOLUTION (Divorce)  
   With Children 
   Without Children 

  Legal Separation 
  Paternity/Maternity 
  Annulment 
  Legal Decision-Making               
  Order of Protection 
  Foreign Judgment 
  Domesticated Decree 
  Foreign Judgment for Legal Decision-Making 
  Establish Support 
  Habeas Corpus 
  Parenting Time 
  Emergency Order of Protection  

   Other   
  (Specify)  
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I receive or have received public assistance which may include AFDC, TANF, or AHCCS for my child(ren) or me. 
 Yes         No 

 
I have a case with the Division of Child Support Enforcement. 

 Yes         No 
 
If yes, list the case number(s) 
_________________________________________________________________     
 
Do you currently have ANY other Pinal County Superior Court cases? 

 Yes         No 
 
If yes, list the case number(s) 
_________________________________________________________________     
 
Have you ever had ANY other Pinal County Superior Court cases?                    

 Yes         No 
 
If yes, list the case number(s) 
_________________________________________________________________ 
 

PETITIONER'S DECLARATION OF INFORMATION FOR CONCILIATION COURT 
 
The wife is pregnant:                                   Yes         No 
 
The respondent is being served by publication:                  Yes         No 
 
Please enter the number of children under the age of 18 of either or both parties who are in legal decision-making 
of either or both parties:    
 
 

NAMES OF MINOR CHILDREN & DATE OF BIRTH:  NAMES OF MINOR CHILDREN & DATE OF BIRTH:

   

   

   
There is an agreement as to the parenting arrangements of the minor children:           Yes         No 

 
To the best of my knowledge, all information is true and correct. 

 
 
 

 Attorney / Pro Per Signature 
 
 

NOTICE
Effective September 8, 1992 and pursuant to Superior Court (Pinal County), Administrative Order No. 92-15, the Superior 
Court requires that a "Cover Sheet", which categorizes the cause of action, accompany any new action filed with the Superior 
Court in Pinal County. PLEASE DO NOT INCLUDE THIS FORM WITH CASES THAT HAVE ALREADY BEEN FILED.  This 
form can only be processed at the time of filing New Complaints and Petitions. 
 

Revised 6/22/09 
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Name of Person Filing:                       
Telephone Number:                       
Email Address:                       
ATLAS Number (if applicable)                       

 Representing Self (No Attorney) or   Represented by Attorney   
If Attorney, Bar Number:                       
 

SUPERIOR COURT OF ARIZONA 
PINAL COUNTY 

 
      CASE NUMBER:
Name of Petitioner 

SENSITIVE DATA SHEET  
(CONFIDENTIAL RECORD)  

      
Name of Respondent HONORABLE:
 

Fill out. File with Clerk of Court. Social Security Numbers should appear on this form only and 
should be omitted from other court forms. Access Confidential pursuant to A.R.F.L.P. 43(G)(1). 

 

A. Personal Information:  Petitioner  Respondent 

Name       

Gender        Male or      Female     Male or        Female 

Date of Birth (Month/Day/Year)                

Social Security Number                

Driver’s License Number               

WARNING: DO NOT INCLUDE MAILING ADDRESS ON THIS FORM IF REQUESTING ADDRESS PROTECTION 

Mailing Address               

City, State, Zip Code               

Contact Phone               

Email Address               

Current Employer Name               

Employer Address               

Employer City, State, Zip Code               

Employer Telephone Number               

Employer Fax Number               
 

B. Child(ren) Information: 

Child Name Gender  Child Social Security Number  Child Date of Birth 
                   
                   
                   
                   

  
Clerk of Court Issued: 
 
 
*For Court Use Only. NOT Public Record. Do NOT Provide A Copy Of This Document To The Other Party. 
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Name of Person Filing:         
Street Address:         
City, State, Zip Code:         
Telephone Number:         
Email Address:         
ATLAS Number (if applicable)         

 Representing Self (No Attorney) or   Represented by Attorney   
If Attorney, Bar Number:         
 

SUPERIOR COURT OF ARIZONA 
PINAL COUNTY 

 
       CASE NUMBER: DO2      
Name of Petitioner 
  

SUMMONS 
        

Name of Respondent  HONORABLE:      
 

WARNING: This is an official document from the court that affects your rights. Read this carefully. If you 
do not understand it, contact a lawyer for help.  

 
 
FROM THE STATE OF ARIZONA TO      
 Name of Respondent 
 

1. A lawsuit has been filed against you. A copy of the lawsuit and other court papers are served on you with 
this “Summons.” 

 
2. If you do not want a judgment or order taken against you without your input, you must file an “Answer” 

or a “Response” in writing with the court, and pay the filing fee. If you do not file an “Answer” or 
“Response” the other party may be given the relief requested in his/her Petition or Complaint. To file 
your “Answer” or “Response” take, or send, the “Answer” or “Response” to the Office of the Clerk of 
the Superior Court, 971 Jason Lopez Circle Bldg A , Florence, Arizona 85132 or PO Box 2730, Florence, 
Arizona 85132-2730; or any satellite office. Mail a copy of your “Response” or “Answer” to the other 
party at the address listed on the top of this Summons.  
 

3. If this “Summons” and the other court papers were served on you by a registered process server or the 
Sheriff, within the State of Arizona, your “Response” or “Answer” must be filed within TWENTY (20) 
CALENDAR DAYS from the date you were served, not counting the day you were served. If this 
“Summons” and the other papers were served on you by a registered process server or the Sheriff 
outside the State of Arizona, your Response must be filed within THIRTY (30) CALENDAR DAYS from 
the date you were served, not counting the day you were served. Service by a registered process 
server or the Sheriff is complete when made. Service by Publication is complete thirty (30) days after the 
date of the first publication.  
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4. You can get a copy of the court papers filed in this case from the Petitioner at the address at the top of 
this paper, or from the Clerk of the Superior Court at the address listed in Paragraph 2 above. 
 

5. If this is an action for dissolution (divorce), legal separation or annulment, either or both spouses may file 
a Petition for Conciliation for the purpose of determining whether there is any mutual interest in 
preserving the marriage or for Mediation to attempt to settle disputes concerning Legal Decision-Making 
and parenting time issues regarding minor children.  
 

6. Requests for reasonable accommodation for persons with disabilities must be made to the office of the 
judge or commissioner assigned to the case, at least five (5) days before your scheduled court date.  
 

 
 

GIVEN UNDER MY HAND AND SEAL OF THE COURT       
 Date

  
 

CHAD A. ROCHE 
Clerk of the Superior Court 

By  
 Deputy Clerk 
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Name of Person Filing:                       
Street Address:                       
City, State, Zip Code:                       
Telephone Number:                       
Email Address:                       
ATLAS Number (if applicable)                       

 Representing Self (No Attorney) or   Represented by Attorney   
If Attorney, Bar Number:                       

 
SUPERIOR COURT OF ARIZONA 

PINAL COUNTY 
 

                     CASE NUMBER: DO2                    
Name of Petitioner 
  

PRELIMINARY INJUNCTION 

                     
Name of Respondent  HONORABLE:                    
 
WARNING: This is an official Order from the court. It affects your rights. Read this Order immediately and 

carefully. If you do not understand it, contact a lawyer for help. 
 
Your spouse has filed a “Petition for Dissolution” (Divorce) or “Petition for Annulment” or “Petition for Legal 
Separation” with the court.  This Order is made at the direction of the Presiding Judge of the Superior Court of 
Arizona in Pinal County.  This Order has the same force and effect as any order signed by the judge.  You and 
your spouse must obey this Order.  This Order may be enforced by any remedy available under the law, including 
an “Order of Contempt of Court.”  To help you understand this Order, we have provided this explanation.  Read 
the explanation and then read the statute itself.  If you have any questions, you should contact a lawyer for 
help. 
 
EXPLANATION: (What does this Order mean to you?) 
 

1. ACTIONS FORBIDDEN BY THIS ORDER:  From the time the “Petition for Dissolution” (Divorce) or 
“Petition for Annulment” or “Petition for Legal Separation” is filed with the court, until the judge signs 
the Decree, or until further order of the court, both the Petitioner and the Respondent shall not do any of 
the following things: 
 

 You may not hide earnings or community property from your spouse, AND 
 You may not take out a loan on the community property, AND 
 You may not sell the community property or give it away to someone, UNLESS you have the written permission of 

your spouse or written permission from the court.  The law allows for situations in which you may need to transfer 
joint or community property as part of the everyday running of a business, or if the sale of community property is 
necessary to meet necessities of life, such as food, shelter, or clothing, or court fees and attorney fees associated 
with this action.  If this applies to you, you should see a lawyer for help, AND 

 Do not harass or bother your spouse or the children, AND 
 Do not physically abuse or threaten your spouse or the children, AND 
 Do not take the minor children, common to your marriage, out of the State of Arizona for any reasons, without a 

written agreement between you and your spouse or a Court Order, before you take the minor children out of the 
State. 
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 Do not remove, or cause to be removed, the other party or the minor children of the parties from any existing 
insurance coverage, including medical, hospital, dental, automobile and disability insurance.  Both parties shall 
maintain all insurance coverage in full force and effect. 

 
STATUTORY REQUIREMENTS:  Arizona Law, A.R.S. 25-315(A) provides: 
 
1(a). RESTRICTIONS ON PROPERTY OF THE MARRIAGE: That both parties are enjoined from transferring, 

encumbering, concealing, selling, or otherwise disposing of any of the joint, common or community 
property of the parties, except if related to the usual course of business, the necessities of life, or court 
fees and reasonable attorney fees associated with an action filed under this article, without the written 
consent of the parties or the permission of the court. 

1(b). REQUIREMENTS OF BEHAVIOR: That both parties are enjoined from molesting, harassing, disturbing 
the peace, or committing an assault or battery on, the person of the other party or any natural or adopted 
child of the parties. 

1(c). RESTRICTIONS ABOUT YOUR MINOR CHILDREN: That both parties are enjoined from removing any 
natural or adopted minor child(ren) of the parties, then residing in Arizona,  from the jurisdiction of the 
court without the prior written consent of the parties or the permission of the court. 

1(d). RESTRICTIONS ABOUT INSURANCE: That both parties are enjoined from removing, or causing to be 
removed, the other party or the minor children of the parties from any existing insurance coverage, 
including medical, hospital, dental, automobile and disability insurance. Both parties shall maintain all 
insurance coverage in full force and effect.  

2. EFFECTIVE DATE OF THIS ORDER:  This Order is effective against the person who filed for divorce, 
annulment, or legal separation (the Petitioner) when the Petition was filed with the court. It is effective 
against the other party (the Respondent) when it is served on the other party, or on actual notice of the 
Order, whichever is sooner. This Order shall remain in effect until further order of the court, or the entry of 
a Decree of Dissolution, Annulment, or Legal Separation. 

3. ORDER TO PETITIONER:  You must serve a copy of this Order upon the Respondent, along with a copy 
of the Petition for Dissolution, Annulment or Legal Separation, the Summons, and other required court 
papers. 

4. WARNING: This is an official Court Order.  If you disobey this Order, the court may find you in contempt 
of court.  You may also be arrested and prosecuted for the crime of interfering with judicial proceedings 
and any other crime you may have committed by disobeying this Order.   

5. LAW ENFORCEMENT:  You or your spouse may file a certified copy of this Order with your local law 
enforcement agency.  You may obtain a certified copy from the Clerk of the Court that issues this Order.  
If any changes are made to this Order and you have filed a certified copy of this Order with your local law 
enforcement agency, you must notify them of the changes. 

6. DESCRIPTION OF THE PARTIES: 
  

Petitioner:  
Name:       Gender:  Male  Female
Height:       Weight:      
Date of Birth:       

 
Respondent:  
Name:       Gender:  Male  Female
Height:       Weight:      
Date of Birth:       

 
GIVEN UNDER MY HAND AND SEAL OF THE COURT       
 Date

  
CHAD A. ROCHE 
Clerk of the Superior Court 

By  
 Deputy Clerk 
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Name of Person Filing:                       
Street Address:                       
City, State, Zip Code:                       
Telephone Number:                       
Email Address:                       
ATLAS Number (if applicable)                       

 Representing Self (No Attorney) or   Represented by Attorney   
If Attorney, Bar Number:                       
 
 

SUPERIOR COURT OF ARIZONA 
PINAL COUNTY 

 
                     CASE NUMBER: DO2                    
Name of Petitioner 
  PETITION FOR DISSOLUTION OF 

A NON-COVENANT MARRIAGE (DIVORCE) 
WITH MINOR CHILDREN 

                     
Name of Respondent  HONORABLE:                     
 
 
STATEMENTS MADE TO THE COURT, UNDER OATH OR AFFIRMATION: 
 
GENERAL INFORMATION: 
 

1. INFORMATION ABOUT ME, THE PETITIONER: 
Name:       
Address:       
Date of Birth:       
Job Title:       
Starting with today, number of months/years in a row, you the petitioner have lived in Arizona:       

 
2. INFORMATION ABOUT MY SPOUSE, THE RESPONDENT: 

Name:       
Address:       
Date of Birth:       
Job Title:       
Starting with today, number of months/years in a row, you the respondent have lived in Arizona:       
 

3. INFORMATION ABOUT MY MARRIAGE:  
Date of Marriage:       
City and state or country where we were married:       
 
The following statements MUST BE TRUE for you to use this document and to qualify for divorce in 
Arizona AND you must check the boxes to indicate that the statements are true or your case may not 
proceed. 
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 We DO NOT have a covenant marriage (If not sure, refer to the INSTRUCTIONS for information). 
  Our marriage is broken beyond repair (“irretrievably broken”) and there is no hope of 

reconciliation. 
  We have tried to resolve our problems through Conciliation Services or going to Conciliation 

Services would not work. 
  This court has jurisdiction to decide child legal decision-making matters under Arizona Law. 

 
 

4. 90 DAY REQUIREMENT: (This statement MUST be true before you can file for divorce in Arizona.) 
 I OR  my spouse have lived in Arizona or have been stationed in Arizona while a member of the 

Armed Forces, for at least 90 days before I filed this action. 
 

5. DOMESTIC VIOLENCE. (If you intend to ask for joint legal decision-making, there must have been no 
“significant” domestic violence in your marriage. A.R.S. 25-403.03.  Check the box to make a true 
statement): 
Significant domestic violence  has OR  has not occurred during this marriage. 
 

6. CHILDREN OF THE PARTIES WHO ARE LESS THAN 18 YEARS OLD (check one box): 
   There are no children under the age of 18 either born to, or adopted by, the parties. 

NOTE: IF YOU CHECKED THIS BOX, STOP. YOU SHOULD BE USING THE PETITION 
PACKET TO GET A DIVORCE WITHOUT CHILDREN. 

 
 The following child(ren) are under age 18 and were born to or adopted by my spouse and me: 

 (Attach extra pages if necessary). 
 
Child’s Name:       
Birth Date:       
Address:       
Length of Time at Address:       
  
Child’s Name:       
Birth Date:       
Address:       
Length of Time at Address:       
  
Child’s Name:       
Birth Date:       
Address:       
Length of Time at Address:       
  
Child’s Name:       
Birth Date:       
Address:       
Length of Time at Address:       

 
7. PREGNANCY and PATERNITY: (check one box) 

 Wife is not pregnant, OR 
 

 Wife is pregnant  
The baby is due on                                   (date), (and, check one box below): 

 The Petitioner and Respondent are the parents of the child, OR 
  Petitioner is not the parent of the child, OR 
  Respondent is not the parent of the child 
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  A minor child or minor children was/were born before the marriage. The husband is the 

 father of that minor child / those minor children named below: 
             
             
             

 
8. A. COMMUNITY PROPERTY: (check one box) 

 My spouse and I did not acquire any community property during the marriage, OR 
 My spouse and I acquired community property during our marriage, and we should divide it as 

follows: 
  Petitioner Respondent Value 

 Real estate located at:     
          $      

 Legal Description: (Quote from the DEED)       
       
       
  
  Petitioner Respondent Value 

 Real estate located at:     
          $      

 Legal Description: (Quote from the DEED)       
       
       
  
 

 Household furniture:  Petitioner Respondent  Value 

           $      
           $      
           $      
           $      
           $      
 

 Household furnishings:  Petitioner Respondent  Value 

           $      
           $      
           $      
           $      
           $      
 

 Other Items:  Petitioner Respondent  Value 

           $      
           $      
           $      
           $      
           $      
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 Pension/retirement fund/profit 
 sharing/stock plan/401K: 
   Petitioner Respondent  Value 

           $      
           $      
           $      
           $      
           $      
 

 Motor vehicles:  Petitioner Respondent  Value 

 Make:           $      
 Model:            
 VIN:            
 Lien Holder:            
        
 Make:           $      
 Model:            
 VIN:            
 Lien Holder:            
 
B. SEPARATE PROPERTY: (check all boxes that apply) 

 I do not have any property, or separate property, that I brought into the marriage. 
 My spouse, the Respondent, does not have any property that he or she brought into the marriage 

or separate property. 
 I have property that I brought into the marriage or I have separate property. I want this property 

awarded to me as described below. 
 My spouse, the Respondent, has property that he or she brought into the marriage or has 

separate property. I want this property awarded to my spouse as described below. 
 
 Separate Property: (List the property and the value of the property, and check the box to tell the 

Court who should get the property.) 
 

Description of Separate Property  Petitioner Respondent  Value 

          $      
          $      
          $      
          $      

 
9. A. COMMUNITY DEBTS: (check one box) 

 My spouse and I did not incur any community debts during the marriage, OR 
 We should divide the responsibilities for the debts incurred during the marriage as follows: 

 

DESCRIPTION OF DEBT  Petitioner Respondent  
Amount 
Owed 

          $      
          $      
          $      
          $      
          $      
          $      
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          $      
          $      
          $      

 
B. SEPARATE DEBTS: (check all boxes that apply) 

 My spouse and I do not have any debts that were incurred prior to the marriage or separate debt; 
 I have separate debt or debt that I incurred prior to the marriage that should be paid by me as 

described below; 
 My spouse has separate debt or debt that he or she incurred prior to the marriage that should be 

paid by my spouse as described below. 

DESCRIPTION OF DEBT  Petitioner Respondent  
Amount 
Owed 

          $      
          $      
          $      

 
10. TAX RETURNS: (check this box if this is what you want) 

 After the judge or commissioner signs the Decree of Dissolution of Marriage (Divorce), we will, 
 subject to IRS Rules and Regulations, pay federal and state taxes as follows: For previous years 
 (the years we were married, not including the year the Decree was signed), the parties will file 
 joint federal and state income tax returns. In addition, for previous calendar years, both parties 
 will pay, and hold the other harmless from,1/2 of all additional income taxes if any and other 
 costs, and each will share equally in any refunds. For the calendar year (the year that the Decree 
 is signed) and all future calendar years, each party will, subject to IRS Rules and Regulations, file 
 separate federal and state income tax returns. Each party will give the other party all necessary 
 documentation to do so. 
 

11. SPOUSAL MAINTENANCE/SUPPORT (ALIMONY): (check the box that applies to you) 
 Neither party is entitled to spousal maintenance/support (alimony), OR  

 
 Petitioner OR Respondent is entitled to spousal maintenance/support because: (Check one or 

more of the box(es) that apply. At least one reason must apply to get spousal maintenance/ 
support.)  

  
 Person lacks sufficient property to provide for his/her reasonable needs;  
 Person is unable to support himself/herself through appropriate employment;  
 Person is the custodian of a child(ren) whose age or condition is such that the person  

  should not be required to seek employment outside the home;  
 Person lacks earning ability in the labor market adequate to support himself/herself; and, 
 Person contributed to the educational opportunities of the other spouse or had a marriage 

of long duration and is now of an age that precludes the possibility of gaining employment 
adequate to support himself/herself.  

 
12. WRITTEN LEGAL DECISION-MAKING AGREEMENT: (Check the boxes that apply, if they apply)  

 
 My spouse and I have a written agreement signed by both of us about the legal decision-making, 

parenting time, and child support for our child(ren).  
 

 I have attached a copy of the written agreement. 
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REQUESTS TO THE COURT:  
 

A. DISSOLUTION (DIVORCE):  
 

 Dissolve our marriage and return each party to the status of a single person;  
 

B. NAMES:  
I took the name of my spouse at the time of marriage and I want to restore my last name to the name I 
used before this marriage or to my maiden name. 
My complete married name is: 
      

 
 I want my name restored to: (List complete maiden or legal name before this marriage) 

        
 

WARNING: If you are not the person who is requesting to have your former name restored, the court 
must have a written request from the party who wants his or her name restored to change the name.  
 
PATERNITY and MINOR CHILD(REN)’S NAMES: 
Declare the husband to be the father of the following named minor child(ren) born before the marriage 
and (optional) change the legal name of those minor children to the name listed on the right, below: 
 

Current Legal Name  

(OPTIONAL) Change the name of the child to: 

New Name 
             
             
             
             
 

C. CHILD LEGAL DECISION-MAKING AND PARENTING TIME: Award legal decision-making and 
parenting time of the children under the age of 18 years and common to the parties, whether by birth or 
adoption, as follows: (Check either the sole legal decision-making box or the joint legal decision-making 
box. If you check the sole legal decision-making box, check only one box related to parenting time.)  
 
C.1 
 

 SOLE LEGAL DECISION-MAKING of the minor child(ren) awarded to  Petitioner OR  
Respondent, subject to parenting time as follows:  

 
  Reasonable Parenting Time rights to the parent not having legal decision-making, as will be 

described in the Parenting Plan attached to the Divorce Decree.  
 

  Supervised Parenting Time between the children and the  Petitioner OR  Respondent is in 
the best interest of the minor children because: (Explain the reasons for need for supervised 
parenting time. Use extra paper if necessary.)  
 
 
 
 

 
Name of the agency/person who will supervise:  
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Requested restrictions on parenting time: (explain here)   
  
  
  

 
The cost of supervised parent/child access will be paid by: 

 The parent being supervised;  
 The parent having legal decision-making; 
 Shared equally by the parties. 

 
 No Parenting Time rights to the parent not having legal decision-making, is in the best interest(s) 

of the child(ren) because: (Explain the reasons for no parenting time. Use extra paper if 
necessary): 
 
 
 
 

  
OR 

C.2. 
 

 JOINT LEGAL DECISION-MAKING: Petitioner and Respondent agree to act as joint custodians 
of the minor child(ren) as set forth in the Joint Legal decision-making Agreement signed by the 
parties, if the court agrees with the Joint Legal decision-making Agreement. (For joint legal 
decision-making, there must have been no “significant” domestic violence in your marriage. 
A.R.S. 25-303.03)  

 
D. CHILD SUPPORT: Order that child support will be paid by:   Petitioner, OR  Respondent in a 

reasonable amount as determined by the court under the Arizona Child Support Guidelines. Support 
payments will begin on the first day of the first month following the entry of the divorce decree. These 
payments, and a fee for handling, will be paid through the Support Payment Clearinghouse and collected 
by automatic wage assignment.  
 

E. MEDICAL, DENTAL, VISION CARE FOR MINOR CHILDREN: Order that 
 

Petitioner is responsible for providing:   Medical   Dental   Vision care insurance 

 
Respondent is responsible for providing:  Medical   Dental   Vision care insurance 

 
Petitioner and Respondent will pay for all reasonable unreimbursed medical, dental, and health-related 
expenses incurred for the child(ren) in proportion to their respective incomes. 

 
F. TAX EXEMPTION: The parties will claim the children as income tax dependency exemptions on federal 

and state income tax returns as follows:  
 
Parent entitled to claim Name of minor child Current tax year Later tax years 

Petitioner  Respondent       
Petitioner  Respondent       
Petitioner  Respondent       
Petitioner  Respondent       

G. SPOUSAL MAINTENANCE (ALIMONY):  
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 Order spousal support to be paid by  Petitioner, or  Respondent in the amount of $                per 
month, beginning with the first day of the month after the Judicial Officer signs the Decree of Dissolution 
and continuing until the person receiving spousal maintenance remarries or either party is deceased, or 
for a period of            months. These payments, and a fee for handling, will be paid through the Support 
Payment Clearinghouse. 

 
H. COMMUNITY PROPERTY: 

 Make a fair division of all community property as requested in this petition.  
 
I. COMMUNITY DEBTS:  

 Order each party to pay community debts as requested in the Petition, and to pay any other 
community debts unknown to the other party. Order each party to pay and hold the other party harmless 
from debts incurred by them since the parties separation on                       (date) or from the date the 
Respondent was served with the Petition for Dissolution.  

 
J. SEPARATE PROPERTY and DEBT: 

 Award each party their separate property and make each party pay their own separate debt.  
 

K. OTHER ORDERS I AM REQUESTING (Explain request here):  
 
 
 
 
 

 
 

OATH OR AFFIRMATION AND VERIFICATION 
 

I swear or affirm that the information on this document is true and correct under penalty of perjury. 
 

 
  
Date  Signature 
 
State of Arizona   ) 
    ) 
County of                                   ) 
 

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO before me this  day of , 20  

by     
Name of Signer 

   
Commission Expires   Notary Public
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SUPERIOR COURT OF ARIZONA 
PINAL COUNTY 

 
 

                     CASE NUMBER: DO2                    
Name of Petitioner 
  

  

 
                     

NOTICE OF YOUR RIGHTS ABOUT HEALTH 
INSURANCE COVERAGE WHEN A PETITION 
FOR DISSOLUTION (DIVORCE) IS FILED 
(A.R.S. 20-1377 AND 20-1408) 
 

 

Name of Respondent  HONORABLE:                     

 
 
WARNING: THIS IS AN IMPORTANT LEGAL NOTICE. YOUR RIGHTS TO HEALTH INSURANCE COVERAGE 
COULD BE AFFECTED AFTER YOUR DIVORCE IS FINAL. READ THIS NOTICE CAREFULLY. IF YOU DO NOT 
UNDERSTAND THIS NOTICE, YOU SHOULD CALL AN ATTORNEY FOR ADVICE ABOUT YOUR LEGAL RIGHTS 
AND OBLIGATIONS. 

 
IMPORTANT INFORMATION IF YOU ARE ON YOUR SPOUSE'S INSURANCE PLAN: When a Petition for Dissolution of 
Marriage (papers for a divorce decree) is filed, you and/or your children may continue to be covered under your spouse's 
health insurance policy.  Arizona law allows the dependent spouse and/or children to continue to be covered, but you must 
take some steps to protect your rights.   
 
WHAT INSURANCE COVERAGE APPLIES TO YOU, AND HOW TO GET IT: If you are covered by your spouse's health 
insurance, and you want to continue to be covered after the divorce is final, you must contact the insurance company as soon 
as possible, and you must start to pay the monthly insurance premium within 31 days of the date the insurance would 
otherwise stop.   
 
If you decide you want to be covered, the insurer can choose whether to continue coverage under the current policy, or to 
change the policy to your name.  If the policy is changed to your name, it is called a "converted"; policy.  If the policy is 
converted by the insurer, the insurer must provide you the same or the most similar level of coverage available, unless you ask 
for a lower level of coverage.   
 
WHAT COVERAGE APPLIES TO YOUR CHILDREN: If you choose to continue coverage as a dependent spouse, you can 
also choose to continue coverage for your dependent children if you are responsible for their care or support.  
 
PREEXISTING CONDITIONS OR EXCLUSIONS FROM INSURANCE COVERAGE: Whether the insurance is continued or 
converted, the insurance must be provided to you without proof of insurability and without exclusions for coverage other than 
what was previously excluded before the insurance was continued or converted. 
 
LIMITS ON RIGHTS TO INSURANCE COVERAGE FOR YOU AND YOUR CHILDREN: You may not be entitled to continued 
or converted coverage if you are eligible for Medicare or for coverage by other similar types of insurance which together with 
the continued coverage would make you over-insured.  However, dependent children of a person who is eligible for Medicare 
may be covered by a continuance or a conversion. If you have questions about coverage, check with the insurer and/or the 
spouse's employer. 
 
WARNING TO THE SPOUSE FILING THE PETITION FOR DISSOLUTION (DIVORCE):  This Notice must be served on 
your spouse together with the Petition for Dissolution, the Summons, and the Preliminary Injunction. 



Page 1 of 2 DO_ARC_COSCPinal_01.28.13 
 Use only most current version 

 

Name of Person Filing:                       
Street Address:                       
City, State, Zip Code:                       
Telephone Number:                       
Email Address:                       
ATLAS Number (if applicable)                       

 Representing Self (No Attorney) or   Represented by Attorney   
If Attorney, Bar Number:                       
 

 
SUPERIOR COURT OF ARIZONA 

PINAL COUNTY 
 

                     CASE NUMBER: DO2                    
Name of Petitioner 
  

AFFIDAVIT REGARDING 
MINOR CHILDREN 

                     
Name of Respondent  HONORABLE:                     
 

NOTICE: This “Affidavit Regarding Minor Children” is required for all legal decision-making cases.  You 
must fill out this Affidavit completely, and provide accurate information.  Use additional paper if 
necessary.  You must give copies of this Affidavit and all other required documents to the other party, 
and to the judge.   
 

1. CHILDREN OF THE PARTIES WHO ARE UNDER 18 YEARS OLD.  The following child(ren) are under 
age 18 and were born to, or adopted by, me and the other party: 
 
Name:        Name:       
Birth Date:       Age:        Birth Date:       Age:       
Name:        Name:       
Birth Date:       Age:        Birth Date:       Age:       
 

2. INFORMATION REGARDING WHERE THE CHILDREN UNDER 18 YEARS OLD HAVE LIVED FOR 
THE LAST 5 YEARS: (Attach additional pages if necessary) 
 
Child’s Name:        Dates: From       To       
Address:        Lived with       
City, State:        Relationship to Child:       

Child’s Name:        Dates: From       To       
Address:        Lived with       
City, State:        Relationship to Child:       

Child’s Name:        Dates: From       To       
Address:        Lived with       
City, State:        Relationship to Child:       
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Child’s Name:        Dates: From       To       
Address:        Lived with       
City, State:        Relationship to Child:       

 
3. COURT CASES IN WHICH I HAVE BEEN A PARTY/WITNESS THAT INVOLVED THE LEGAL 

DECISION-MAKING PARENTING TIME OF THE CHILD(REN): (Check one box) 
 I have or  I have not been a party/witness in court in this state or in any other state that involved the 

legal decision-making parenting time of the child(ren) named above. (If so, explain on separate paper. If 
not, go on.) 
 

Name of each child:       
Name of Court:        Court Location:       
Court Case Number:        Current Status:       
How the child is involved:       
Summary of any Court Order:       

 

4. INFORMATION REGARDING PENDING COURT CASES RELATED TO THE LEGAL DECISION-
MAKING OF THE CHILD(REN):  (Check one box) 

 I do have or  I do not have information about a legal decision-making parenting time court case 
relating to any of the children named above that is pending in this state or in any other state.  (If so, 
explain. If not, go on.) 
 
Name of each child:       
Name of Court:        Court Location:       
Court Case Number:        Current Status:       
How the child is involved:       
Summary of any Court Order:       
 

5. LEGAL DECISION-MAKING OR PARENTING TIME CLAIMS OF ANY PERSON:  (Check one box) 
 I do know or  I do not know a person other than the Petitioner or the Respondent who has physical 

legal decision-making or who claims legal decision-making or parenting time rights to any of the children 
named in this Affidavit.   
(If so, explain below.  If not, go on.) 
 

Name of each child:       
Name of person with the claim:      
Address of person with the claim:      
Nature of the claim:       

  
OATH OR AFFIRMATION AND VERIFICATION: 

I swear or affirm that the information on this document is true and correct under penalty of perjury. 
 

  
Date  Signature 
 
State of Arizona   ) 
    ) 
County of                                   ) 
 

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO before me this  day of , 20  

by     
Name of Signer 

   
Commission Expires   Notary Public
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Name of Person Filing:                       
Street Address:                       
City, State, Zip Code:                       
Telephone Number:                       
Email Address:                       
ATLAS Number (if applicable)                       

 Representing Self (No Attorney) or   Represented by Attorney   
If Attorney, Bar Number:                       

 
SUPERIOR COURT OF ARIZONA 

PINAL COUNTY 
 
                     CASE NUMBER: DO2                    
Name of Petitioner 
  

NOTICE REGARDING CREDITORS  
                     
Name of Respondent  HONORABLE:                     

 

ARIZONA LAW REQUIRES all actions for DIVORCE or LEGAL SEPARATION to include this NOTICE 
and for the person filing for Divorce or Legal Separation to SERVE this NOTICE on the other party.
(ARS 25-318(F). 

 
YOU AND YOUR SPOUSE ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR COMMUNITY DEBTS. The court usually 
requires/orders one spouse or the other to pay certain community debts in, or through, the Decree of Dissolution 
or Legal Separation. A court order that does this is binding on the spouses only, not the creditors. You and your 
spouse are legally responsible for these community debts whether you are married, divorced, or legally 
separated. These debts are matters of contract between both of you and your creditors (such as banks, credit 
unions, credit card companies, utility companies, medical providers and retailers). On request, the court may 
impose a lien against the separate property of a spouse to secure payment of certain community debts. 
 
CONTACT CREDITORS: You may want to contact your creditors to discuss the debts and the effects of your 
divorce/legal separation on your debts. To assist you in identifying your creditors, you may obtain a copy of your 
spouse's credit report by making a written request to the court for an order requiring a credit reporting agency to 
release the report to you. The credit report will help you identify accounts, account numbers and account 
balances. In addition, within thirty (30) days after receipt of a request from a spouse who is party to a divorce or 
legal separation, which includes the court and cause number of the action, creditors are required, by law, to 
provide information as to the balance and account status of any debts for which you or your spouse may be liable 
to the creditor. 
 

WARNING: If you do not understand this notice, you should contact an attorney for advice about your 
legal rights and obligations. 
 

The following page contains a sample form you may choose to mail to creditors to get 
information about debts owed by you or your spouse. It is not a required form. 
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REQUEST FOR ACCOUNT INFORMATION FROM CREDITORS 
 

You may use this form to request information about debt owed by you or your spouse. 
If so, send to the creditor. DO NOT FILE THIS PAGE WITH THE COURT. 

 
 
DATE:        
 
CREDITOR’S NAME:       
 
CREDITOR’S ADDRESS:       
 

Regarding:  Superior Court of Arizona in Pinal County  

  Case Name:       
  Case Number:       

 
Pursuant to Arizona State Law (ARS 25-318), this letter requests the balance and account status of any debt for 
which the following individuals may be liable to you. (Arizona law requires that you provide this information within 
thirty (30) days of receipt of this letter.) 
 
INFORMATION ABOUT DEBTORS/SPOUSES: 
 
Your Name:       
 
Your Address:       
 
      
 
Your Phone Number:       
 
Your Spouse’s Name:       
 
Your Spouse’s Address:       
 
      
 
INFORMATION ABOUT THE ACCOUNT: 
 
Account Number(s):       
 
If you have any questions or if I can be of further assistance, please feel free to contact me. 
 
 
Sincerely, 
 
 
Your Name:       

Your Signature:  
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Name of Person Filing:                       
Street Address:                       
City, State, Zip Code:                       
Telephone Number:                       
Email Address:                       
ATLAS Number (if applicable)                       

 Representing Self (No Attorney) or   Represented by Attorney   
If Attorney, Bar Number:                       
 
 SUPERIOR COURT OF ARIZONA 
  PINAL COUNTY 
  
                     CASE NUMBER:                    
Name of Petitioner 
  

 
PARENTING PLAN FOR: 

 JOINT LEGAL DECISION-MAKING WITH 
JOINT LEGAL DECISION-MAKING 
AGREEMENT 
or 

 SOLE LEGAL DECISION-MAKING 
 
     To Mother 
     To Father 
 

  

                     
Name of Respondent 
 

 

INSTRUCTIONS 

 
This document has 4 parts:  PART 1) General Information PART 2) Legal Decision-Making and Parenting Time 
PART 3) Danger to Children Notification Statement, and PART 4) Joint Legal Decision-Making Agreement. Where 
this form refers to “children” it refers to any and all minor children common to the parties whether one or more. 
 
One or both parents must complete and sign the Plan as follows: 

a. If only one parent is submitting the Plan; that parent must sign at the end of PART 2 and 3. 
 

b. If both parents agree to Legal Decision-Making and parenting time arrangements but not to 
joint Legal Decision-Making:  Both parents must sign the Plan at the end of PART 2 and 3. 

 
c. If both parents agree to joint Legal Decision-Making and parenting time arrangements as 

presented in the Plan:  Both parents must sign the Plan at the end of PART 2, 3, and 4. 
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PART 1: GENERAL INFORMATION: 
 
A.  MINOR CHILDREN.  This Plan concerns the following children:  (Use additional paper if necessary). 

             
             
             
             

 
B. THE FOLLOWING LEGAL DECISION-MAKING ARRANGEMENT IS REQUESTED: 

(Choose ONE of 1, 2, 3 4.) (If you chose “sole Legal Decision-Making” [1 or 2], you have the option of also requesting 
restrictions on parenting time of the other party. 

 1. SOLE LEGAL DECISION-MAKING BY AGREEMENT.  The parents agree that Sole Legal 
Decision-Making and primary physical Legal Decision-Making should be granted to  Mother  
Father. 

 The parents agree that since each has a unique contribution to offer to the growth and development of their minor 
children, each of them will continue to have a full and active role in providing a sound moral, social, economic, and 
educational environment for the benefit of the minor children, as described in the following pages,  
OR 

 2. SOLE LEGAL DECISION-MAKING REQUESTED BY THE PARENT SUBMITTING THIS PLAN. 
 The parents cannot agree to the terms of Legal Decision-Making and parenting time.  The parent submitting this Plan 

asks the court to order sole Legal Decision-Making and parenting time according to this Plan. 
   
  (Optional, if you marked 1 or 2 above) 
    RESTRICTED, SUPERVISED, OR NO PARENTING TIME. 
         The parent submitting this Plan asks the court for an order restricting parenting time. 
         The facts and information related to this request are described in the Petition. 
 OR 

 3. JOINT LEGAL DECISION-MAKING BY AGREEMENT.  The parents agree to joint Legal Decision-
Making and request the court to approve the joint Legal Decision-Making arrangement as 
described in this Plan.  Primary physical Legal Decision-Making will be with  Mother  Father,  
OR 

 4. JOINT LEGAL DECISION-MAKING REQUESTED BY THE PARENT SUBMITTING THIS PLAN.  
 The parents cannot agree to the terms of Legal Decision-Making and parenting time or are unable to submit this plan 

together at this time.  My request for Joint Legal Decision-Making is deferred for the court’s determination. 
 

PART 2: LEGAL DECISION-MAKING AND PARENTING TIME.  Complete each section below.  
Be specific about what you want the judge to approve in the court order. 

A.   (School Year) WEEKDAY AND WEEKEND TIME-SHARING SCHEDULE: 
  The children will be in the care of the Father as follows: (Explain) 

      
  The children will be in the care of the Mother as follows: (Explain) 

      
 Other Legal Decision-Making arrangements are as follows: (Explain) 

      
 Transportation will be provided as follows: 

 
  Mother or   Father will pick up the children up at       o’clock. 
  Mother or   Father will pick up the children up at       o’clock. 

  
Parents may change their time-share arrangements by mutual agreement with at least       days 
notice in advance to the other parent. 
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B. SUMMER MONTHS OR SCHOOL BREAK LONGER THAN 4 DAYS:  The weekday and weekend 
schedule described above will apply for all 12 calendar months EXCEPT: 

  During summer months or school breaks that last longer than 4 days, no changes shall be made. 
 OR, 

  During summer months or school breaks that last longer than 4 days, the minor children will be in the 
care of Father:  (Explain). 
       

 During summer months or school breaks that last longer than 4 days, the minor children will be in the care of Mother:  
(Explain). 
       

       Each parent is entitled to a       week period of vacation time with the minor children.  The parents
           will work out the details of the vacation at least       days in advance. 
 
C.  TRAVEL: 
 Should either parent travel out of the area with the minor children, each parent will keep the other 

 parent informed of travel plans, address(es), and telephone number(s) at which that parent and 
the minor children can be reached. 

 Neither parent shall travel with the minor children outside Arizona for longer than        

 days without the prior written consent of the other parent or order of the court.   
 

D. HOLIDAY SCHEDULE:  The holiday schedule takes priority over the regular time-sharing schedule as 
described above.   Check the box(es) that apply and indicate the years of the holiday access / Parenting 
time schedule. 

 
 Holidays    Even Years    Odd Years 

 New Year’s Eve    Mother  Father   Mother  Father 
 New Year’s Day    Mother  Father   Mother  Father 
 Spring Vacation    Mother  Father   Mother  Father 
 Easter     Mother  Father   Mother  Father 
 4th of July    Mother  Father   Mother  Father 
 Halloween    Mother  Father   Mother  Father 
 Veteran’s Day    Mother  Father   Mother  Father 
 Thanksgiving    Mother  Father   Mother  Father 
 Hanukkah    Mother  Father   Mother  Father 
 Christmas Eve    Mother  Father   Mother  Father 
 Christmas Day    Mother  Father   Mother  Father 
 Winter Break    Mother  Father   Mother  Father 
 Child’s Birthday    Mother  Father   Mother  Father  

 Mother’s Day will be celebrated with the Mother every year.  

 Father’s Day will be celebrated with the Father every year. 

 Each parent may have the children on his or her birthday. 

 Three-day weekends which include Martin Luther King Day, President’s Day, Memorial Day, Labor Day, 
Columbus Day, the children will remain in the care of the parent who has the minor children for the 
weekend. 
 

 Other Holidays (Describe the other holidays and the arrangement.) 
      

 Telephone Contact: Each parent may have telephone contact with the minor children during the 
child(ren)’s normal waking hours, OR: (Explain) 
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 Other (Explain): 
      

 
E. PARENTAL ACCESS TO RECORDS AND INFORMATION:  Under Arizona law (A.R.S.§25-403), 

unless otherwise provided by court order or law, on reasonable request, both parents are entitled to have 
equal access to documents and other information concerning the minor children’s education and physical, 
mental, moral and emotional health including medical, school, police, court and other records.  A person 
who does not comply with a reasonable request for these records shall reimburse the requesting parent 
for court costs and attorney fees incurred by that parent to make the other parent obey this request.  A 
parent who attempts to restrict the release of documents or information by the custodian of the records 
without prior court order is subject to legal sanctions. 

 
F. EDUCATIONAL ARRANGEMENTS: 

 Both parents have the right to participate in school conferences, events and activities, and the right to 
consult with teachers and other school personnel. 

 Both parents will make major educational decisions together. (Optional)  If the parents do not reach  
agreement, then:       
      

  OR 
 Major educational decisions will be made by  Mother  Father after consultation other parent. 

  
G. MEDICAL AND DENTAL ARRANGEMENTS: 

 Both parents have the right to authorize emergency medical treatment, if needed, and the right to consult 
with physicians and other medical practitioners.  Both parents agree to advise the other parent 
immediately of any emergency medical/dental care sought for the minor children, to cooperate on health 
matters concerning the children and to keep one another reasonably informed.  Both parents agree to 
keep each other informed as to names, addresses and telephone numbers of all medical/dental care 
providers.  
 

 Both parents will make major medical decisions together, except for emergency situations as noted  
above.  (optional)  If the parents do not reach an agreement, then:       
      

OR 
   Major medical/dental decisions will be made by  Mother  Father after consultation other parent. 

  
H. RELIGIOUS EDUCATION ARRANGEMENTS: (Choose ONE) 

 Each parent may take the minor children to a church or place of worship of his or her choice during the 
time that the minor children is/are in his or her care. 

  
 Both parents agree that the minor children may be instructed in the       faith. 

 
 Both parents agree that religious arrangements are not applicable to this plan. 

 
I. ADDITIONAL ARRANGMENTS AND COMMENTS:  
 NOTIFY OTHER PARENT OF ADDRESS CHANGE. Each parent will inform the other parent of any 

 change of address and/or phone number in advance OR within       days of the change. 
 
 NOTIFY OTHER PARENT OF EMERGENCY. Both parents agree that each parent will promptly inform 

the other parent of any emergency or other important event that involves the minor children. 
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 TALK TO THE OTHER PARENT ABOUT EXTRA ACTIVITES. Each parent will consult and agree with 
the other parent regarding any extra activity that affects the minor children’s access to the other parent. 

 
 ASK OTHER PARENT IF HE/SHE WANTS TO TAKE CARE OF THE CHILDREN. Each parent agrees 

to consider the other parent as care-provider for the minor children before making other arrangements. 
 
 OBTAIN WRITTEN CONSENT OR COURT ORDER BEFORE MOVING. The notice required by this 

section shall be made by certified mail, return receipt requested, or pursuant to the Arizona rules of family 
law procedure. The court shall sanction a parent who, without good cause, does not comply with the 
notification requirements of this subsection. The court may impose a sanction that will affect legal 
decision-making or parenting time only in accordance with the child’s best interests. A.R.S. 25-408 (B)  

 
 COMMUNICATE. Each parent agrees that all communication regarding the minor children will be 

between the parents and that they will not use the minor children to convey information or to set up 
parenting time changes. 

 
 PRAISE OTHER PARENT. Each parent agrees to encourage love and respect between the minor 

children and the other parent and neither parent shall do anything that may hurt the other parent’s 
relationship with the minor children. 

 
 COOPERATE AND WORK TOGETHER. Both parents agree to exert their best efforts to work 

cooperatively in future plans consistent with the best interests of the minor children and to amicably 
resolve such disputes as may arise. 

 
 NOTIFY OTHER PARENTS OF PROBLEMS WITH TIME-SHARING AHEAD OF TIME. If either parent is 

unable to follow through with the time-sharing arrangements involving the minor child(ren), that parent will 
notify the other parent as soon as possible. 

 
 PARENTING PLAN. Both parents agree that if either parent moves out of the area and returns later, they 

will use the most recent “Parenting Plan/Access Agreement” in place before the move. 
 
 MEDIATION. If the parents are unable to reach a mutual agreement regarding a legal change to their 

parenting orders, they may request mediation through the court or a private mediator of their choice. 
 
 

NOTICE:  DO NOT DEVIATE FROM PLAN UNTIL DISPUTE IS RESOLVED. 
Both parents are advised that while a dispute is being resolved, neither parent shall deviate from this 
Parenting Plan. Or act in such a way that is inconsistent with the terms of this agreement. 
 
Once this Plan has been made an order of the Court, if either parent disobeys the court order related to 
parenting time with the children, the other parent may submit court papers to request enforcement. 
 
J.  PART 2   SIGNATURE OF ONE OR BOTH PARENTS (as instructed on page 1) 
 
 
 
Signature of Mother:  Date:       

Signature of Father:  Date:       
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PART 3:   STATEMENT REGARDING CONTACT WITH SEX OFFENDERS AND PERSONS 
CONVICTED OF DANGEROUS CRIMES AGAINST CHILDREN. 
 

According to A.R.S. §25-403.05, a child’s parent or custodian must immediately notify the other 
parent or custodian if the person knows that a convicted or registered sex offender or someone 
who has been convicted of a dangerous against children may have access to the child.  

 
According to A.R.S. §13-705 (P) (1), “Dangerous crime against children” means any of the following that is 
committed against a minor who is under fifteen years of age: 
 

(a) Second degree murder. 
(b) Aggravated assault resulting in serious physical injury or involving the discharge, use or threatening 

exhibit on of a deadly weapon or dangerous instrument. 
(c) Sexual assault. 
(d) Molestation of a child. 
(e) Sexual conduct with a minor. 
(f) Commercial sexual exploitation of a minor. 
(g) Sexual exploitation of a minor. 
(h) Child abuse as prescribed in section 13-3623, subsection A, paragraph 1. 
(i) Kidnapping. 
(j) Sexual abuse. 
(k) Taking a child for the purpose of prostitution as prescribed in section 13-3206. 
(l) Child prostitution as prescribed in section 13-3212. 
(m) Involving or using minors in drug offenses. 
(n) Continuous sexual abuse of a child. 
(o) Attempted first degree murder. 
(p) Sex trafficking. 
(q) Manufacturing methamphetamine under circumstances that causes physical injury to a minor. 
(r) Bestiality as prescribed in section 13-1411, subsection A, paragraph 2. 
(s) Luring a minor for sexual exploitation. 
(t) Aggravated luring a minor for sexual exploitation. 
(u) Unlawful age misrepresentation. 

 

The parent or custodian must provide notice by first class mail, return receipt requested, by 
electronic means to an electronic mail address that the recipient provided to the parent or 
custodian for notification purposes or by another form of communication accepted by the court. 
 
 

PART 3   SIGNATURE OF ONE OR BOTH PARENTS (as instructed on page 1) 
 
I/We have read, understand, and agree to abide by the requirements of A.R.S. §25-403.05(B) concerning 
notification of other parent or custodian if someone convicted of dangerous crime against children may 
have access to the child. 
 
 
Signature of Mother:  Date:       

Signature of Father:  Date:       
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PART 4:   JOINT LEGAL DECISION-MAKING AGREEMENT (IF APPLICABLE): 
 
A.  DOMESTIC VIOLENCE:  Arizona Law (A.R.S. §25-403.03) states that joint Legal Decision-Making 

shall NOT be awarded if there has been “a history of significant domestic violence”. 
  Domestic Violence has not occurred between the parties,  

OR 
 Domestic Violence has occurred but it has not been “significant” or has been committed by both 

parties.* 
 
B. DUI or DRUG CONVICTIONS: 

 Neither party has been convicted of driving under the influence or a drug offense within the past 
12 months,  
OR 

 One of the parties HAS been convicted of driving under the influence or a drug offense within the 
past 12 months but the parties feel Joint Legal Decision-Making is in the best interest of the 
children. * 

 IF THERE HAS BEEN DOMESTIC VIOLENCE OR A DUI OR DRUG CONVICTION: 
Attach an extra page explaining why Joint Legal Decision-Making is still in the best interest of 
the children. 
 

C. JOINT LEGAL DECISION-MAKING AGREEMENT: If the parents have agreed to joint Legal 
Decision-Making, the following will apply, subject to approval by the Judge: 

 
1. REVIEW:  The parents agree to review the terms of the / this agreement and make any necessary or 

desired changes every       months from the date of this document. 
2. CRITERIA. Our joint Legal Decision-Making agreement meets the criteria required by Arizona law 

A.R.S. §25-403.02, as listed below: 
 
a. The best interest of the minor children are served; 

 
b. Each parent’s rights and responsibilities for personal care of the minor children and for decisions 

in education, health care and religious training are designated in this Plan; 
 

c. A schedule of the physical residence of the minor children,, including holidays and school 
vacations is included in the Plan; 

 
d. The Plan includes a procedure for periodic review; 

 
e. The Plan includes a procedure by which proposed changes, disputes and alleged breaches may 

be mediated or resolved; 
 

f. A procedure for communicating with each other about the child, including methods and 
frequency. 

 
PART 4   SIGNATURE OF BOTH PARENTS REQUESTING JOINT LEGAL DECISION-MAKING (as 
instructed on page 1) 
 
Signature of Mother:  Date:       

Signature of Father:  Date:       
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CHILD SUPPORT CALCULATOR 

 
 
 
 

 
The Court Help website 
offers a Free Child 
Support Calculator. 
   

 
Simple Quick  Accurate 

 
If you have a personal computer with Internet access, you 

can access the Child Support Calculator at: 
 
  

 http://www.azcourts.gov/familylaw  
 

Calculate Support  
 
Your computer must be attached to a printer.  The Child Support Entry Form will open in Adobe Acrobat Reader.  

Begin by clicking the appropriate button for the Custodial Parent, then press the Tab button on your keyboard to 

move through the form, or click on each line with your mouse. 

Enter the appropriate information on each blank.  Not every blank needs to be completed in every case.  If you are 

not sure whether you should complete a blank, click on the word next to the blank.  You will be directed to additional 

information along with a link to the appropriate section in the Arizona Child Support Guidelines. 

When you have competed the Entry Form, click the "Calculate Support" button to get an estimate of the amount of 

child support that the noncustodial parent may have to pay to the custodial parent for the support of their child(ren). 

After clicking on "Calculate Support" the following forms will automatically be filled in with the information from the 

Entry Form.  Print forms and bring with you at the time of filing your initial paperwork. 

 Parent's Worksheet for Child Support Amount  

 Child Support Order  

 Income Withholding Order/Notice for Support 
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SERVICE OF COURT PAPERS 
 
 

CHECKLIST 
 
“Service” means giving legally required notice to other parties that you have filed papers that may 
result in a court order that may affect them. The court papers can ONLY be delivered in a manner 
permitted by law, and proof of proper delivery must be filed with the court. 
 
You may use the forms and instructions in this packet if . . . 
 
 

 You have filed a Petition, Complaint, or other document in the Superior Court in a Civil or Family 
Court case and you are required to serve notice on other parties of what you have filed with the 
court, 
 

AND 
 

 You understand that your case cannot proceed until you have provided proof to the court that 
notice has been given in a manner permitted by law, 
 

AND 
 

 You understand that you may NOT hand-deliver the papers to the other party unless he or she 
(and no one else) will sign a “Family Court Acceptance of Service” form in front of a Notary 
and return the form for you to file with the Court. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
NOTE: If you know you are going to have the papers served by the Sheriff’s Department or by a 
private process server in Pinal County and you do not need information about other methods of 
service, both the Sheriff and private process servers will have their own forms and you will not 
need this packet. 
 
NOTE: If you are required to serve notice on a person outside the United States, you may need to 
see a lawyer or research international law to determine what methods of service are permitted in your 
situation. 
 
READ ME: Consulting a lawyer before filing documents with the court may help prevent unexpected 
results. 
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HOW TO SERVE COURT PAPERS ON THE OTHER PARTIES 
 

TABLE OF CONTENTS 
 
 
This packet contains general information, court forms, instructions and procedures for serving court 
papers, delivering court papers as permitted or required by law. Use only the forms that apply to the 
method of service you have chosen. Do NOT copy or file information, instruction or procedures pages 
with the Court. 
 
 
 

 
Order Title # of Pages 

1 Checklist 1 

2 Table of Contents (this page) 1 

3 Instructions: Serving the Other Party 4 

4 Family Court Acceptance of Service 3 

5 How to Serve the Other Party by Certified Mail 1 

6 Affidavit Supporting Service by Certified Mail 2 

7 How to Serve By Registered Process Server 1 

8 How to Serve By Sheriff 2 

9 How to Serve By Publication 3 

10 
Declaration of Due Diligence and Request for Alternate Means of Service 
(Publication) 

2 

11 Order for Alternate Means of Service (Publication) 1 

12 Affidavit Supporting Publication 3 

 
 
 
 
 
 

You have permission to use them for any lawful purpose. These forms shall not be used to engage in the 
unauthorized practice of law. The Court assumes no responsibility and accepts no liability for actions 
taken by users of these documents, including reliance on their contents. The documents are under 
continual revision and are current only for the day they were received. It is strongly recommended that 
you verify on a regular basis that you have the most current documents.
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INSTRUCTIONS 

Serving the Other Party 
 
1. SERVING THE OTHER PARTY: 

 After you have filed your court papers with the Clerk of the Court, you must serve the papers 
on the other party. 

 
 Service means giving legal notice to the other party (or parties) that you have filed court 

papers. You must provide proof of service to the court. 
 

 This packet explains the steps you need to take to serve the other party and what forms you 
must use. 

 
 By completing the steps for service, you tell the court that the other party has received a copy 

of the court papers.  After the other party is served, the other party will be given a time limit to 
file a Response or Answer. The Response or Answer is the other party’s written statement to 
your request. The Response or Answer tells you, and the court, what the other party wants.  

 
2. METHODS OF SERVICE: 

Read the choices below to make sure that you are using the correct method of service. Select the 
method of service that works best for you. (If the other party lives outside of the United States, you should 
see a lawyer to find out which method of service will work best for you.) 

 
A. Service by Acceptance. This method requires you to give, or mail the court papers to the other 

party and include a “Family Court Acceptance of Service” form.  The other party must sign the 
“Family Court Acceptance of Service” form in front of a Notary Public and return it to you. The 
other party cannot sign the “Family Court Acceptance of Service” until after you have filed the 
court papers with the court. The other party’s signature on the “Family Court Acceptance of 
Service” does not mean that he/she agrees with the court papers.  It means that the other party 
admits receiving the papers, without being served in person by the sheriff or a process server.  
 
Service is complete at the time the other party signs the “Family Court Acceptance of 
Service.” If you choose this method of service, use the “Family Court Acceptance of Service” 
form. 
 
WARNING: Do not use this method of service if you are the victim of domestic violence, or 
believe the other party will hurt you, take your money, or take your children. If you believe the 
other party will become violent or uncooperative when you ask him/her to accept service, use one 
of the methods of service described below. 

 
B. Service by Registered Process Server. This method requires you to hire, and pay, a registered 

process server to serve the other party with court papers. A process server is a person who will 
give the papers to the other party at home, work, or other location. This method of service costs 
more than service by acceptance and requires the process server to find the other party. If you 
decide to use this method, look under "Process Server" in the Yellow Pages to find someone who 
can serve your papers. Service is complete at the time the process server hands the other party 
the court papers. If you decide to use this method, and the other party lives outside of Arizona, 
you would need to find a registered process server in the state where the other party lives. 
 

C. Service by Sheriff. This method requires you to contact the Sheriff's Office in the county where 
the other party lives to arrange for a Sheriff's deputy to give the other party the court papers. This 
method requires you to pay a fee to the Sheriff's Office. The Sheriff’s Office will give the Court a 
Sworn Affidavit of Service stating that the person was served. 
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NOTE: Pinal County Sheriff’s Deputy can only serve parties that are located within Pinal County. 
If the other party lives outside Pinal County, you will need to contact the Sheriff’s Office in that 
county for information regarding service. 

 
D. Service by Certified Mail. This method of service allows you to give notice by a special type of 

mail. You can send the court papers by giving the post office copies of the court papers in an 
envelope, postage prepaid, to be sent to the other party by any form of mail requiring a signed 
and returned receipt. This is often called Certified Mail, Restricted Delivery by the post office. 
This means that the other party must sign for the papers. 
 
If the other party signs a receipt (green receipt) for the papers, the green receipt will be returned 
to you in the mail. You must then file an affidavit with the court stating (1) that the court papers 
were sent to the other party, (2) that the papers were received by the other party, as evidenced 
by the original green receipt you attach to the affidavit; and (3) the date the party received the 
documents. A copy of the affidavit you will need is provided in the packet. 

 
E. Other Methods of Service. There may be other ways to serve the other party. To learn more 

about these other ways, you should see a lawyer for help. 
 
3. WHEN YOU CANNOT FIND THE OTHER PARTY: 

Before you begin service by Publication, you must first complete the “Declaration of Due Diligence 
and Request for Alternate Means of Service (Publication)” for the Judge to grant service by 
Publication. 

 
If the Judge approves service by Publication the “Order for Alternate Means of Service” will be 
signed and a copy of the Order mailed to you, at that time you can continue with Publication. 

 
A. Service by Publication. You may use this method only if you do not know where the other 

party lives, or cannot find the other party. Service by publication is your "last resort." It is used 
only if you do not have a current address for the other party and have tried, unsuccessfully, to 
find the other party. Use a paper of general circulation and that are familiar with the requirements 
and regularly publishes legal notices. 

 
 Tips for Finding the Other party:  Before the Court will accept “Service by Publication,” you 

must have made every reasonable effort to find the Respondent and to give actual notice of this 
case by personal service of the required documents. You will be required to state, under penalty 
of perjury, the steps you have taken to try to locate the Respondent and if the Court is not 
satisfied that you have taken all reasonable steps, your case may be delayed until the Court is 
satisfied all such steps have been taken.  

 
 Examples of steps you MUST take: verify the Respondent is not at any last known address(es), 

talk to Respondent’s friends, family members, employer, co-workers, former co-workers or 
employer(s), or anyone else you think may have a current address. Search telephone directories, 
the Internet, voter registration records, obituaries, and even the morgue. You may also have to 
consider hiring a private detective or a company that charges a fee to do computer searches to 
help you track down the other party. If you know the other party’s date of birth and/or Social 
Security Number, this method may work for you.   

 
Service by Publication can be expensive and may delay your court case. You would need to 
contact the newspaper to determine the cost of publication. Application for Deferral is only 
applicable to Pinal County newspapers. If you need to publish in another County or State, the 
Deferral of Fees is not applicable. 
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1. Publication must been done in the county were the case originated: 
 
This method requires that a copy of the “Summons” be published in a newspaper of general 
circulation in Pinal County once a week for four consecutive weeks.   
 
If the other party’s last known address was also in Pinal County then the publication above 
will suffice for service to the other party. 

 
2. How to publish service if the other party’s last known address is in Arizona, but not in 

the county in which your case in pending: 
 

i. You must publish in the county in which your case is pending and you must publish in 
a newspaper in the county of the last known residence of the person to be served. 
 

ii. To publish in another county (not Pinal County) you will need to contact a newspaper 
in that county. 
 

iii. After you have contacted the newspaper and inquired about publication, mail or 
deliver the payment (or certified copy of the Order of Deferral) and “Letter to 
Newspaper” provided in this packet, along with copies of the “Summons” or 
documents you filed with the Court, to the newspaper for publication. 
 

iv. Wait for the newspaper to send you the original document called “Affidavit of 
Service” in five weeks. 

 
3. Complete Your Paperwork. Fill out the “Affidavit Supporting Publication” provided in this 

packet. The “Affidavit Supporting Publication” is a statement affirming or swearing under 
oath that you have done everything possible to try to find the other party. File the original 
“Affidavit Supporting Publication” with the Clerk of the Superior Court.   
 
You must also file the original “Affidavit of Service” that you received from the 
newspaper(s), verifying and stating the dates of publication. 

 
WHEN IS A WRITTEN RESPONSE TO THE COURT PAPERS DUE? 
 

 LOOK AT THE TIMETABLE BELOW. If the last day for the other party to respond falls on a 
Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, you do not count that day. The last day you count to determine 
if you can file the default papers, must be a day when this court is open for business. 

 
 INCLUDE WEEKENDS AND HOLIDAYS. In counting the days, include weekends and holidays 

until you reach the number of days in the Timetable below. If the other party files a written 
Response or Answer with the court, you CANNOT FILE BY DEFAULT. 

 
DEFAULT TIMETABLE 

SERVICE BY 

 “Acceptance of Service” (in Arizona)  
 Process Server (in Arizona)  
 Sheriff (in Arizona)  
 “Acceptance of Service” (out of State) 
 Registered mail (out of State)  
 Process Server (out of State)  
 Sheriff (out of State)  
 Publication 

COUNT 

20 Days 
20 Days 
20 Days 
30 Days 
30 Days 
30 Days 
30 Days 
60 Days 

EVENT 

after other party signs “Acceptance of Service” 
after other party receives papers from process server 
after other party receives papers from sheriff 
after other party signs “Acceptance of Service” 
after other party signs green card 
after other party receives papers from process server 
after other party receives papers from sheriff 
after the 1st day of publication 
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Name of Person Filing:         
Street Address:         
City, State, Zip Code:         
Telephone Number:         
Email Address:         
ATLAS Number (if applicable)         

 Representing Self (No Attorney) or   Represented by Attorney   
If Attorney, Bar Number:         
 

 SUPERIOR COURT OF ARIZONA 
PINAL COUNTY 

 
       CASE NUMBER: DO2      
Name of Petitioner 
  

 
FAMILY COURT 
ACCEPTANCE OF SERVICE 
A.R.F.L.P. RULE 40 
        

Name of Respondent  HONORABLE:      

 
 

Check the box to indicate each document you received. Do not check the box unless you received the document 
listed beside it. If your case is not one of the types listed, list the type of case and the documents you received 
from the other party under “Other Type Case” on the next page. 

 
1. BY SIGNING THIS DOCUMENT, I STATE UNDER OATH OR AFFIRMATION THAT I HAVE RECEIVED 

AND ACCEPTED THE LEGAL PAPERS INDICATED (CHECKED) BELOW 
 

DIVORCE (OR ANNULMENT) 
WITH CHILDREN 

  Petition 
  Summons 
  Preliminary Injunction 
  Health Insurance Notice 
  Parent Info. Program Notice 
  Notice to Creditors 
  Affidavit Regarding Minor Children 
  Parenting Plan 
  Child Support Worksheet 

LEGAL SEPARATION 
WITH CHILDREN 

  Petition 
  Summons 
  Preliminary Injunction 
  Health Insurance Notice 
  Parent Info. Program Notice 
  Notice to Creditors 
  Affidavit Regarding Minor Children 
  Parenting Plan 
  Child Support Worksheet

TEMPORARY ORDERS 
  Motion for Temporary Order 
  Order to Appear   
  Temporary Orders 
  Affidavit of Financial Info.  
  Child Support Worksheet 
  Parenting Plan  

  
DIVORCE (OR ANNULMENT) 
WITHOUT CHILDREN  

  Petition 
  Summons 
  Preliminary Injunction 
  Health Insurance Notice 
  Notice to Creditors 

LEGAL SEPARATION 
WITHOUT CHILDREN 

  Petition 
  Summons 
  Preliminary Injunction 
  Health Insurance Notice 
 Notice to Creditors

PATERNITY (TO ESTABLISH) 
  Petition 
  Summons 
  Parent Info. Program Notice 
  Affidavit Regarding Minor Children 
  Parenting Plan 
  Child Support Worksheet 
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CHILD LEGAL DECISION-MAKING, PARENTING 
TIME, SUPPORT 
(to establish when paternity already legally established) 

  Petition 
  Summons 
  Parent Info. Program Notice 
  Affidavit Regarding Minor Children 
  Parenting Plan 
  Child Support Worksheet 

CHILD SUPPORT 
(to establish when paternity already legally established) 

  Petition 
  Order to Appear 
  Child Support Worksheet 

  
ENFORCEMENT 

 Petition           Order to Appear 
 

  
MODIFY CHILD SUPPORT 15% OR MORE 
(“Simplified Mod”) 

  Petition to Modify 
  Parents Worksheet for Child Support 
  Blank Request for Hearing 

MODIFY SPOUSAL MAINTENANCE OR SPOUSAL 
AND CHILD SUPPORT (“Standard Mod”) 

  Petition to Modify Support Order   
  Order to Appear 
  Affidavit of Financial Information 

  
MODIFY CHILD SUPPORT (“Standard Mod”) 

  Petition to Modify Child Support – Std. Process 
  Affidavit of Financial Information 
  Order to Appear 

MODIFY CHILD LEGAL DECISION-MAKING &/OR 
PARENTING TIME AND SUPPORT 

  Petition to Modify 
  Parents’ Worksheet for Child Support 
  Notice of Filing for Modification of Legal decision-making 
  Affidavit Regarding Minor Children 

  
STOP ORDER OF ASSIGNMENT/ 
INCOME WITHHOLDING ORDER 

  Petition to Stop Order of Assignment 
  Blank Request for Hearing 

MODIFY (Change) ORDER OF ASSIGNMENT/ 
INCOME WITHHOLDING ORDER 

  Petition to Modify Order of Assignment 
  Blank Request for Hearing 

   
    
LIST OTHER CASE TYPE HERE: (Example: “Annulment”) ________________________________________  
(Below, list name of each document you received: Example: “Petition for Annulment”, “Summons”, etc.)          

   

   

   

   
 
2. ACCEPT AND WAIVE FORMAL SERVICE.  I waive formal service of process by a process server or sheriff. I 

understand accepting these papers is the same as if I were personally served under Arizona Law [A.R.F.L.P. Rule 40 (F)]   
 
3. RESPONSE DEADLINE. I am aware that accepting service of these court papers and signing this paper does not 

affect my right or obligation to file a written Response or Answer to this action if I do not agree with any relief asked for in 
the Petition. I understand I must Respond or Answer within 20 days from the day I signed the original of this Acceptance 
of Service if I accepted service in Arizona, or 30 days if I received the papers somewhere other than in Arizona. 

 
4. DEFAULT JUDGMENT, ORDER OR DECREE.  I understand that if I do not appear and defend in this action in 

court, within the time allowed by law, that I may lose my right to be heard in this case. I understand that failure to Respond 
or Answer could result in the court giving the other party any and all things requested in his or her legal papers, through a 
Default Judgment, Order or Decree. 
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5. RESTORE NAME. (ONLY in Divorce, Legal Separation or Annulment Cases.)  
    
 
My complete married name is: (Complete ONLY if you want to change your name) 
 
 
I want my legal name restored to: (List complete maiden name or legal name before this marriage)
 

 
 
 
 
 
BY SIGNING BELOW, I swear or affirm that I have read and understand the contents of this document and 
that I have received and accepted the legal documents indicated above. 
 
 
 
  
Date  Signature 
 
State of Arizona   ) 
    ) 
County of                                   ) 
 

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO before me this  day of , 20  

by     
Name of Signer 

   
Commission Expires   Notary Public
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PROCEDURES 

How to Serve Court Papers by Certified Mail 
 
 

USE THIS PROCEDURE ONLY after you have filed your papers with the court. 
 
STEP 1: GO TO THE POST OFFICE and tell the clerk you would like to mail the other party a 

letter as follows: 
 

 Certified Mail, and 
 Deliver to Addressee Only, and 
 Restricted Delivery, and 
 Return Receipt Requested, and 
 Pay the postage. 

 
STEP 2:  WAIT for green receipt to be returned with the other party’s signature. When you get the 

green receipt, note the date the other party received and signed for the papers. 
 
STEP 3:  PAPERS FOR THE COURT 
 

 COMPLETE: Original of “Affidavit of Service by Certified Mail.” Fill in ALL 
information requested on the form before proceeding. Be sure you fill in the date 
the other party received the papers. If you are unsure of the date, use the date 
you received the return receipt card. If you fail to list a date, the court may not 
process your papers and your case may be delayed. 

 
 ATTACH: You must attach the original green receipt to the Affidavit to prove 

how you served the other party.  
 

 COPY: Make yourself a copy of the “Affidavit of Service by Certified Mail” 
and a copy of the green receipt to keep for your files. 

 
STEP 4:  FILE PAPERS WITH THE COURT. File the Original “Affidavit of Service by 

Certified Mail” and the original green receipt with the Clerk of the Court. 

 
STEP 5:  COUNT. Note the date the other party was served the papers and start counting the 

days the other party has to file a Response or Answer. (When counting the days, start 
counting with the day after the other party signed the green receipt.) 

 
 
 

DO NOT BRING CHILDREN TO COURT 
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Name of Person Filing:                       
Street Address:                       
City, State, Zip Code:                       
Telephone Number:                       
Email Address:                       
ATLAS Number (if applicable)                       

 Representing Self (No Attorney) or   Represented by Attorney   
If Attorney, Bar Number:                       
 
 

SUPERIOR COURT OF ARIZONA 
PINAL COUNTY 

 
                     CASE NUMBER: DO2                    
Name of Petitioner 
  AFFIDAVIT OF SERVICE BY CERTIFIED MAIL 

                     
Name of Respondent  HONORABLE:                    
  
1.   I am familiar with the facts stated in this Affidavit, and I make this Affidavit to show that I have served the court papers on the 
other party by certified mail, postage prepaid, return receipt requested, pursuant to Arizona Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 4.2(c). 

Person served (name of other party):  

Address where other party was served:  

 

Date of receipt by the other party:  Date of return of receipt to sender:  
 
2.   The following documents were sent to the other party by certified mail (List all of the documents sent to the other party):  

 

 
These court papers were received by the other party as shown by the original RETURN receipt that is attached to this Affidavit. 
 
   
Date  Signature 
 
State of Arizona   ) 
    ) 
County of                                   ) 
 

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO before me this  day of , 20  

by     
Name of Signer 

   
Commission Expires   Notary Public 
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ATTACH THE ORIGINAL MAIL RETURN RECEIPT HERE 
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INSTRUCTIONS 

How to Serve Court Papers by Registered Process Server 
 
STEP 1: FIND. You must hire a Registered Process Server. You may locate process servers in 

the commercial section of the phone book under "Process Server," or online by using the 
search term “Arizona Process Servers” or similar, or at the web site of the Arizona 
Process Server’s Association at  http://arizonaprocessservers.org/.   

   
NOTICE: There are fees for service of court papers.   
 

 May offer greater flexibility in serving papers “after-hours” or on short notice. 
 

 Are paid directly by you, not through the court. 
 

 If you qualify, Process Server Fees may be deferred or waived within Pinal 
County only. 

 
 Out of County Process Server Fees may not be deferred or waived by the court. 

 
 
 STEP 2: GO. Go to the Registered Process Server’s office. TAKE with you the following items: 

 
 Copy of “Summons” (if your case has a summons). 

 
 Other party’s set of copies of the court papers. 

 
 A picture or a written physical description of the other party. 

 
 A written description of the automobile that the other party drives. 

 
 The address where the other party can be served. 

 
 The amount you need to pay for this service. (You can call ahead of time to ask 

the Process Server what type of payment they require.) 
 
 
STEP 3: WAIT. The Process Server will mail you a copy of the “Affidavit of Service” after 

he/she serves the other party with the papers. IMPORTANT: If the Process Server does 
not file an “Affidavit of Service” with the Clerk of the Court, you must get the “Affidavit 
of Service” from the Process Server and file it.  

 
 
STEP 4: COUNT. Look at the “Affidavit of Service” to find out the date the other party was 

served with the court papers and start counting the days for the other party to file a 
Response or Answer. When counting the days, start counting with the day after the other 
party was served the papers. Look at the “Affidavit of Service” to find out the date the 
other party was served with the court papers and start counting the days for the other 
party to file a Response or Answer. When counting the days, start counting with the day 
after the other party was served the papers. 

 
 

DO NOT BRING CHILDREN TO COURT. 
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PROCEDURES 

How to Serve Court Papers by Sheriff  
 
 

 STEP 1: GO. Contact the Sheriff’s Office in the county where the other party lives. Bring 
your court papers with you, or send a copy of the court papers to the Sheriff’s 
Office if the other party does not live in the same county as you do. The Pinal 
County Sheriff’s Office is located at: 

 
Pinal County Sheriff's Office 
971 Jason Lopez Circle, Bldg C 

Florence, AZ 85132 
1-800-420-8689 

 
NOTICE: There are fees for service of court papers. 

 
 
 
STEP 2: WRITE. If you are asking that the papers be served by a Sheriff’s Department 

other than Pinal County’s, fill out the attached sheet for identifying the other party 
and provide: 

 
 Other party’s set of copies of the court papers.  
 A picture or written physical description of the other party. 
 A written description of the automobile the other party drives. 
 The address where other party can be served. 
 “Certified Order Waiving/Deferring Fees,” or a $200.00 deposit 

fee - cash/money order. 
 
 
 
STEP 3: WAIT.  The Sheriff may mail you a copy of the “Affidavit of Service” after the 

other party is served with the papers, or the Sheriff may file these papers instead 
of sending them back to you.   

 
 
 
STEP 4: COUNT. Read the “Affidavit of Service” to find out the date the other party 

was served with the court papers and start counting the days the other party has  
to file a Response or Answer. (When counting the days, start counting with the 
day after the other party was served with the court papers.) 

 

 
 
 

DO NOT BRING CHILDREN TO COURT. 
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(YOUR NAME)

      
(ADDRESS) 

      
(CITY/STATE/ZIP) 

      
(TELEPHONE NUMBER) 

      
(DATE) 

 
      County Sheriff
(COUNTY NAME)   

        
(ADDRESS)  

       COURT CASE NO.       
(CITY/STATE/ZIP)   
 
REGARDING: (NAME OF PERSON TO BE SERVED)

I enclose a copy of the following documents: (LIST ALL DOCUMENTS YOU WANT TO BE SERVED)     

             

             

             
 
Please serve these papers on the other party.  His or her current address and physical description are: 

            
(OTHER PARTY’S NAME)   

            
(HOME ADDRESS)   (WORK ADDRESS) 

            
(HOME CITY/STATE/ZIP)  (WORK CITY, STATE, ADDRESS) 
      

 
SEX 

 
RACE 

 
BIRTH 

 
HGT. WGT. EYES HAIR 

 
SSN 

 
      

 
      

 
      

 
                        

 
      

 
Please return a notarized “Affidavit of Service” to my address at your earliest convenience.  The court 
requires that each document served be named in the “Affidavit of Service.” 
 

 I also enclose a deposit of $200. I understand there is a $16.00 service fee, a travel fee of $2.40 
per mile (one way), for each attempt at service, and a $8.00 notary fee. I understand that the 
difference between my deposit and the fees accrued for service will be billed, or returned, to me.   
OR,   

 

 I also enclose a certified copy of the “Order for Waiver/Deferral of Fees for Service of 
Process.”   

 
Thank you for your cooperation in this matter. 
  
 (YOUR SIGNATURE) 

Enclosures 
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PROCEDURE 

How to Serve the Court Papers by Publication 
 
STEP 1: PUBLISH THE COURT PAPERS.  As per A.R.S., Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 4.2 (f). 
 

A. How to serve the court papers by publication if you do not know if the other party 
lives in the county in which your case is pending (Pinal County) and/or the other 
party’s last known address was not in Arizona. 

 
1. If you are paying the costs to publish, use any paper of general circulation and that 

are familiar with the requirements and regularly publishes legal notices. 
 

NOTICE:  There are fees for service of court papers. 
 

B. How to publish service if the other party’s last known address is in Arizona and 
that address is not in the county in which your case is pending:  

 
1. You must publish in the county in which your case is pending and you must publish in 

a newspaper in the county of the last known residence of the person to be served. 
 

2. To publish in Pinal County follow the instructions in “A” above how to publish service 
of process if the other party lives in the same county in which your case is pending. 

 
3. To publish in another county (not Pinal County) you will need to contact a newspaper 

company in that county. 
   

C. How to publish service if the other party is known to live in another country: 
 

1. You will have to contact an attorney to see if this method of service is appropriate for 
your situation. 

 
STEP 2: WAIT.  Wait for the newspaper to send you the original of the document called “Affidavit of 

Service” in about five weeks. 
 
 
STEP 3: COMPLETE YOUR PAPERWORK. 
 

A. Fill out the “Affidavit Supporting Publication,” where you will list everything you did to 
attempt to find the other party before resorting to publication. 

 
NOTICE: If the Court is not satisfied that you have made every reasonable effort to locate 
the other party, you may be required to take additional steps adding delay and expense 
to your case, including being required to publish notice again. 
 

B. ATTACH a copy of the published notice from the newspaper(s). 
 
C. KEEP A COPY for your records of the “Affidavit Supporting Publication.” 
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STEP 4: FILE THE COURT PAPERS. 
 
A. File the original “Affidavit Supporting Publication” and a copy of the publication(s), 
 
 AND; 
 
B. File the original “Affidavit of Service” you received from the newspaper(s).  

 
 
STEP 5: COUNT. 

  
A. Find out the date the other party was served with the court papers. You can find this date 

by looking at the date of the first newspaper publication. Then count the days for the 
other party to file a Response or Answer. (When counting down the days, start counting 
with the day after the first day of publication.) 

 
B. If the other party does not file a Response or Answer within the required time period, see 

a lawyer for help. 
 

C. If the other party files a Response or Answer, see a lawyer for help. 
  
 
 
 
 
 
 

DO NOT BRING CHILDREN TO COURT 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



Page 3 of 3 DO_SBP _COSCPinal_04.20.12 
Use only most current version 

 

Arizona Rules of Family Law Procedure, Rule 6.3(h) 
 

 
       
 Print Name 
       
 Your Address 
       
 Date 
 
       
Name of Newspaper  
       
Address  
 
 
 
To Whom It May Concern: 
 
I need to publish notice in the newspaper about the following matter: 
Court Case Number       
Enclosed is a copy of the following documents stamped by the Clerk of Court (list all the documents 
here:) 
 

1.       
2.       
3.       
4.       

 
Please publish a Notice in your newspaper about this court case once a week for four successive weeks. 
Also enclosed is (Check One Box): 
 

 A check or money order in the amount of $                     for the cost of the publication as requested. 
 

 A certified copy of the Order from the court waiving the publication costs. 
 
 
When you receive this letter, please call me at to tell me when the first publication will occur. When all 
four weeks of publication have been completed, please send to me the original and one copy of an 
Affidavit of Publication. 
 
Thank you for your help in this matter. 
 
Yours truly, 
 
 

Sign Your Name 
 
 
 
Enclosures: 

 Court documents AND 
 Check or Money Order OR 
 Certified copy of Court Order of Waiver/Deferral of Publication Fees 
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Name of Person Filing:         
Street Address:         
City, State, Zip Code:         
Telephone Number:         
Email Address:         
ATLAS Number (if applicable)         

 Representing Self (No Attorney) or   Represented by Attorney   
If Attorney, Bar Number:         
 

SUPERIOR COURT OF ARIZONA 
PINAL COUNTY 

 
 
       CASE NUMBER: DO2      
Name of Petitioner 
  DECLARATION OF DUE DILIGENCE AND 

REQUEST FOR ALTERNATE MEANS OF 
SERVICE (PUBLICATION) 

       

Name of Respondent  HONORABLE:      

  
1. I make this Affidavit to tell the Court why service by publication is needed. 

 
2. Pursuant to Arizona Rules of Civil Procedure, Rules 4.1(e) and 4.2(e), service by publication is the best 

way to notify the other party of this court case because the other party is: 
 

 Avoiding Service of Process.  I have mailed, postage prepaid, a copy of the following legal documents: 

 

 

 

 
 to the last known address of the other party on or before the first date of publication, OR 
 

 The other party’s residence is unknown.  I have not mailed copies of the proceedings to the other 
party. 

  
3. The residence and whereabouts of the other party is unknown to me, even though I have made a diligent 

search to find out. My search failed to reveal any information that might lead to knowledge about the other 
party’s residence or whereabouts. This is what I did to try to find the other party. (Explain in detail here 
everything you did to try to find the other party.) 

 

 

 

 

 

 



Page 2 of 2 
 

DO_DDDRAMS_COSCPinal_04.25.12
Use only most current version 

 

 
4. To the best of my knowledge, information and belief, the other party is not in the military service of the 

United States. 
 
 
5. I have read this statement and know of my own knowledge that the facts stated herein are true and 

correct. 
 

 
  
Date  Signature 
 
State of Arizona   ) 
    ) 
County of                                   ) 
 

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO before me this  day of , 20  

by     
Name of Signer 

   
Commission Expires   Notary Public
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SUPERIOR COURT OF ARIZONA 
PINAL COUNTY 

 
 
 

  CASE NUMBER: DO2 
Name of Petitioner 

 
ORDER FOR ALTERNATE MEANS OF 
SERVICE (PUBLICATION)  

  
Name of Respondent  HONORABLE:  
 
 
 
 

 

The Court having reviewed the “Declaration of Due Diligence and Request for Alternate 

Means of Service,” and good cause appearing, 

 

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED granting “Declaration of Due Diligence and Request for 

Alternate Means of Service.” 

          

DONE IN OPEN COURT this                      day of                            , 20____  

 
 

  
 JUDGE/COMMISSIONER OF THE SUPERIOR COURT
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Name of Person Filing:         
Street Address:         
City, State, Zip Code:         
Telephone Number:         
Email Address:         
ATLAS Number (if applicable)         

 Representing Self (No Attorney) or   Represented by Attorney   
If Attorney, Bar Number:         
 
 SUPERIOR COURT OF ARIZONA 

PINAL COUNTY 
 
  CASE NUMBER: DO2 
Name of Petitioner  

AFFIDAVIT SUPPORTING PUBLICATION 
A.R.C.P. 4.1, 4.2 -  A.R.F.L.P. 41, 42 

  
Name of Respondent  HONORABLE:      

   
1. I make this Affidavit to tell the Court why service by publication was used and to show how service by 

publication was done. 
 
2. Pursuant to Arizona Rules of Civil Procedure, Rules 4.1(e) and 4.2(e), service by publication is the best way 

to notify the other party of this court case because the other party is: 
 

 Avoiding service of process.  I have mailed, postage prepaid, a copy of the following legal documents: 

 

 

 

 
 to the last known address of the other party on or before the first date of publication, OR 
 

 The other party’s residence is unknown.  I have not mailed copies of the proceedings to the other party. 
  

3. The residence and whereabouts of the other party is unknown to me, even though I have made a diligent 
search to find out. My search failed to reveal any information that might lead to knowledge about the other 
party’s residence or whereabouts. This is what I did to try to find the other party. (Explain in detail here 
everything you did to try to find the other party.) 
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4. To the best of my knowledge, information and belief, the other party is not in the military service of the United 
States. 
 

5. The following documents were published in a newspaper in the county where my case is pending.  
(List title/name of each document. Example: Petition, Summons) 

 

                 

                 
 
The documents above were published on the following dates: 
 
A.        B.        C.        D.       

  
 
 AND/OR 

 
The following documents were published in a newspaper in the Arizona County of the other 
party’s last known address, or in an adjoining county if no newspaper is published in that county, 
and neither is the county in which my case is pending. 
 

                 

                 
 
The documents above were published on the following dates: 
 

 
A.        B.        C.        D.       
 

 
6. An Affidavit of Publication for each newspaper has been filed into court record. 
 
 
7. I have read this statement and know of my own knowledge that the facts stated herein are true and correct. 
 
 
  
Date  Signature 
 
State of Arizona   ) 
    ) 
County of                                   ) 
 

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO before me this  day of , 20  

by     
Name of Signer 

   
Commission Expires   Notary Public
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INSTRUCTIONS: ATTACH the original of the Affidavit of Publication from the Newspaper(s) to this page. 

 



Revised 03.04.13 

 
DEFAULT 

In Family Court Cases 
 
 
 

 
 
 

 
PINAL COUNTY 

 
 

How to get a (default) Court Order 
When the Other Party Has Not Filed a Response 

 
 

INSTRUCTIONS AND FORMS 
 

Provided as a Public Service by 
CHAD A. ROCHE 

Clerk of the Superior Court 
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HOW TO GET A DEFAULT COURT ORDER 
IN FAMILY COURT CASES 

 
CHECKLIST 

 
USE THE FORMS AND INSTRUCTIONS in this packet only if the following factors apply to 
your situation: 
  

 You have filed a summons and petition for one of the following: 
 Divorce 
 Legal Separation 
 Annulment 
 To establish Paternity 
 To establish a first court order for Legal Decision-Making and/or Parenting Time OR 

Legal Decision-Making, Parenting Time and Support, 
  

AND 
 

 The other party was served with court papers, 
 

AND 
 

 Proof of service has been filed with the Clerk of the Court, 
 

AND 
 

 The other party has not filed a written response or answer within the time frame set by law. 
(Check the court file to be sure this is true.), 

 

AND 
 

 You want to proceed to get a (default) court order. 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

READ ME: It is very important for you to know that when you sign a court document, you may be helping or 
hurting your court case.  Before you sign any court document, or get involved with a court case, it is important that 
you see a lawyer to make sure you are doing the right thing. 
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DEFAULT 
 

HOW TO GET A DEFAULT DECREE IN FAMILY COURT CASES 
 
This packet contains general information and instructions about how to apply for a default decree in family 
court cases. Be sure this packet contains the following documents: 
 
 
 

 
Order Title # of Pages 

1 
 
Checklist: You may use these forms if… 1 

2 Table of Contents (this page) 1 

3 Procedures: What Happens after Service” 2 

4 Procedures: “How to Get a Default Hearing” 2 

5 “Application and Affidavit for Default and Entry of Default” 3 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

You have permission to use these documents for any lawful purpose.  These forms shall not be used to engage in the 
unauthorized practice of law.  The Court assumes no responsibility and accepts no liability for actions taken by users 
of these documents, including reliance on their contents.  The documents are under continual revision and are 
current only for the day they were received. It is strongly recommended that you verify on a regular basis that you 
have the most current documents. 
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 INFORMATION 

What Happens After Service of Process?  
What is a Default Hearing? 

 
What is a Default?    

Default means that the party was served with the court papers did not disagree with the information in the court 
papers and did not file a written timely “Response” or “Answer.”  The party who filed the Petition/Complaint is 
the party who comes to the default hearing. 

 
General Information  

After the other party has been served with the court papers, one or more documents must be filed with the court 
to show service.  For example:  an “Acceptance of Service” signed by the other party and notarized, a “Waiver 
of Service” signed by the other party and notarized, or an “Affidavit of Service” signed by a private process 
server or deputy sheriff.  After the other party has been served with the court papers, you are a step closer to 
completing your case. The next steps depend upon whether the other party files a written “Response” or 
“Answer” with the court. 

 
Default Time Table 

The papers the private process server or sheriff served on the other party explain that the other party has 20 
days to file a written “Response” or “Answer” to the court if the papers were served in Arizona.  If a private 
process server or sheriff served the other party outside Arizona, the other party has 30 days to file a written 
“Response” or “Answer.” 

  
If the other party signed an “Acceptance of Service,” the other party has 20 days to file a written “Response” 
or “Answer” to the court if the other party lives in Arizona.  If the other party does not live in Arizona and signs 
an “Acceptance of Service,” the other party has 30 days to file a written “Response” or “Answer.” 

 
If the other party lives outside Arizona, you mailed the documents to the other party, and the other party signed a 
“Green Receipt” saying he/she received the court papers, then the other party has 30 days to file a written 
“Response” or “Answer.”   

 
If you need additional information about service by publication, refer to the “Service of Court Papers” packet for 
instructions.  
 

Requirement for Default 
If the other party has filed a written “Response” or “Answer” with the court within the time allowed by law, you 
cannot proceed by default.  Both parties will be scheduled for Early Resolution Conference with Family Services 
of the Conciliation Court.   

 
If you want to get a default hearing, you must complete the “Application for Default and Entry of Default” and 
file it with the Clerk of the Court.  You must be sure service of process was complete, and that the other party did 
not file a written “Response” or “Answer” with the court.   

 
After the Clerk of the Court enters the default, be sure you have two (2) copies of the “Application for Default 
and Entry of Default” conformed stamped by the Clerk. You must mail or hand-deliver one copy to the other 
party the day that you filed the “Application for Default and Entry of Default” with the Clerk of the Court. 

 
At the time of filing the “Application for Default and Entry of Default” with the Clerk of the Court, the Deputy 
Clerk will provide the Petitioner with a pamphlet regarding the Decree Assistance Project.   
 
The Decree Assistance Project is designed to assist the Petitioner complete the final stage of the Dissolution 
process and schedule a Default Hearing. 
 
After ten working days from the day after filing the “Application for Default and Entry of Default,” the 
Petitioner is required to contact Family Services of the Conciliation Court at (520) 866-7349 or 1-800-208-6897 
x7387 to schedule a Default Hearing.   
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If the tenth day falls on a Saturday or Sunday or legal holiday the Respondent has until the end of the following 
work day to submit a Response.   
 

If a “Response” or “Answer” is Filed 
If a “Response” or “Answer” was filed by the Respondent, your case is not eligible for Default and your case 
will be scheduled for an Early Resolution Conference.   
 
What is Early Resolution Conference: 
It is an efficient and economical opportunity to resolve outstanding issues between the parties with an impartial 
third party who can draft your agreements. Family Services of the Conciliation Court will schedule a hearing and 
both parties will receive an Order to Appear for an Early Resolution Conference in the mail.  
 

 

ADDRESS INFORMATION 
It is very important for you (Petitioner and Respondent) to keep the court informed of your most current address. This 
means that if the address information is incorrect or if you change addresses, you must contact the Clerk of the Court 
and give them your new or current address. 

 
 
 

  DO NOT BRING CHILDREN TO COURT. 
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WHEN AND HOW TO FILE AN APPLICATION AND AFFIDAVIT FOR DEFAULT IN 
FAMILY COURT CASES 

 
PROCEDURES: 
 
WHEN TO FILE THE APPLICATION FOR DEFAULT: 
 

 after the other party has been served with the court papers, AND  
 the appropriate response period has passed (see Default Timetable below), AND   
 the other party has not filed a response or answer with the court.  

 
 

STEP 1: COUNT.  Look at the Default Timetable below to find the method of service you used and the 
number of calendar days to count before you can apply for a default hearing or order.   

 
 BEGIN COUNTING THE DAY AFTER THE OTHER PARTY WAS SERVED WITH THE PETITION.   

 INCLUDE WEEKENDS AND HOLIDAYS until you reach the number of days listed. 

 If the last day for the other party to respond falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, do 
NOT count that day.  
 

DEFAULT TIMETABLE 

SERVICE BY COUNT EVENT 

Acceptance of Service in Arizona 21 Days After the other party signs the “Acceptance of Service” 

Process Server in Arizona 21 Days After other party receives papers from a process server

Sheriff in Arizona 21 Days After other party receives papers from Sheriff 

Registered Mail in Arizona 21 Days After other party signs Green Return Receipt Card 

Acceptance of Service out of State 31 Days After the other party signs the “Acceptance of Service” 

Process Server out of State 31 Days After other party receives papers from a process server

Sheriff out of State 31 Days After other party receives papers from Sheriff 

Registered Mail out of State 31 Days After other party signs Green Return Receipt Card 

Publication 61 Days After the 1st date of publication 

 
STEP 2: WAIT.  Wait until the day after the number of days indicated in the Default Timetable above.  If the 

other party did not file an Answer/Response with the Court you may file the Application and Affidavit 
for Default as instructed in Steps 3-6 below.  Please read Steps 3-6 prior to completing the form.  
YOU MUST TAKE THIS ACTION FOR YOUR CASE TO PROCEED. 

 
STEP 3: COMPLETING THE FORM:  
 

 DO NOT SIGN and date the “Application and Affidavit for Default” before the amount 
of time shown in the Default Timetable has passed. 

 
 On page one (1) of the Application and Affidavit for Default and Entry of Default please 

make sure the name, address, phone number for the Petitioner are provided in the top left 
of the form. 

 
 On page one (1) of the Application and Affidavit for Default and Entry of Default list both 

party names on the document under “Name of Petitioner” this is the person who opened 
case and “Name of Respondent” this is the Responding party. 

 
 On page one (1) of the Application and Affidavit for Default and Entry of Default you will 

list your case number.  Your case number was provided and stamped on all documents 
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when the case was initially filed and opened with the Court. 
 

 On page one (1) of the Application and Affidavit for Default and Entry of Default question 
number two (2) must be answered.  One box must be checked.  By checking one box you 
are indicating the method of service you used to serve the initial court papers upon the 
Responding party.  
  

 On page three (3) of the Application and Affidavit for Default and Entry of Default the Clerk 
at the filing window will complete the “Entry of Default” section at the time this form is 
submitted to the window for filing. Please leave this blank.   

 
 On page three (3) of the Application and Affidavit for Default and Entry of Default the 

Certificate of Mailing must be completed as follows: 
 

 The date entered must be the same date the form is submitted to the 
Court or any date after the filing of the document.  There cannot be a 
date listed that is prior to filing the form with the Clerk of the Superior 
Court.   

 You must indicate that after filing a copy of the Application and Affidavit 
for Default and Entry of Default it will be either mailed or hand delivered 
to the Responding party.  A box must be marked.  If hand delivered is 
marked, please indicate on the line provided who will be delivering the 
copy to the Respondent. 

 The Respondents address must be listed in the address lines provided. 
 The Petitioner must sign their signature at the bottom of the form on the 

“Signed” line certifying that the actions marked will be completed.  
 
STEP 4: AFTER FORM IS COMPLETE: 
     

 After the form has been completed in full you must have the document signed in front of a notary.  DO NOT 
sign the document prior to signing in front of a notary.  You may have any notary notarize the document.  
 

 AFTER the document has been completed, signed and notarized, you will make two (2) copies.  One copy 
will be for your records and the additional copy will be for the Respondent.   

  
 

STEP 5: FILING THE DOCUMENT WITH THE COURT 
 

 The Application and Affidavit for Default and Entry of Default may be filed at any one of our office locations: 
 

 Main office in Florence, 971 Jason Lopez Circle Bldg., A, Florence, AZ 85132.  Office hours are 
Monday – Friday open from 8:00 – 5:00 p.m. 
 

 Apache Junction Satellite Office, 575 N. Idaho Road Suite 109, Apache Junction, AZ 85119.  Office 
hours are Monday – Friday open 8:00 – 5:00 p.m. closing from 12:00 -1:00 for lunch.  

 
 Casa Grande Satellite Office, 820 E. Cottonwood Lane, Bldg. B, Casa Grande, AZ 85122.  Office 

hours are Monday – Friday open from 8:00 – 5:00 p.m. closing from 12:00 -1:00 for lunch. 
 

 Hand the original and both copies of the Application and Affidavit for Default to the Clerk at the filing window.  
The Clerk will file and keep the original, date stamp both copies and return the stamped copies to you.  
 
 

STEP 6:   MAILING A COPY TO THE OTHER PARTY: 
 

 After filing you must mail one of the date-stamped copies of the Application and Affidavit for Default to the 
Responding party on the same day that you have indicated in the Certificate of Mailing section located on 
page three (3) of the document.   
 

 You will keep the additional copy for your records.  This is your proof that you have filed this document with 
the Court.  
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STEP 7:  SCHEDULING YOUR FINAL HEARING:   
 

 At the time you submit your Application and Affidavit for Default to the Clerk of the Superior Court, the Clerk 
at the filing window will provide to you a Decree Assistance Project Screening Checklist.  The checklist will 
instruct you to contact the Family Services of the Conciliation Court.   

 You will contact the Conciliation Court ten (10) Court business days after the mailing of the Application and 
Affidavit for Default to the Responding party.  You will start counting from the day after the date indicated on 
page three (3) of the Application and Affidavit for Default under the Certificate of Mailing or Delivery section.  
This is the date you indicated the document would be mailed to the Responding Party.  Do not count 
holidays.   

 The Decree Assistance Project Screening Checklist received from the Clerk of the Court’s Office must be 
completed and with you when you contact the Conciliation Court Services.   

 After answering the screening questions, if approved, the Conciliation Court will schedule your final hearing 
date.  

 The Decree Assistance Project Screening Checklist will only be provided to customers who have filed an 
Application and Affidavit for Default in their case. 

 DO NOT contact the Conciliation Court Services prior to filing the Application and Affidavit for Default.     
 
 
STEP 8: PREPARE THE PAPERWORK YOU ARE REQUIRED TO BRING TO THE COURT  
 HEARING: 
 

 A complete list of documents you are required to bring to your default hearing is available in the Decree 
Assistance Project Screening Checklist that was provided to you by the Clerk of the Court under “Items 
Needed for Default Hearing” 
 

 Any additional forms are available at www.pinalcountyaz.gov/coscForms. All forms may be downloaded for 
free from our website.  If forms are requested at a Clerk of the Court location there will be a charge of $0.50 
per page.   
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Name of Person Filing:         
Street Address:         
City, State, Zip Code:         
Telephone Number:         
Email Address:         
ATLAS Number (if applicable)         

 Representing Self (No Attorney) or   Represented by Attorney   
If Attorney, Bar Number:         
 

SUPERIOR COURT OF ARIZONA 
PINAL COUNTY 

 
 
       CASE NUMBER: DO2 
Name of Petitioner 
  APPLICATION AND AFFIDAVIT 

FOR DEFAULT & ENTRY OF DEFAULT 

      	

Name of Respondent  HONORABLE:      
 
 

NOTICE: THIS IS AN IMPORTANT COURT DOCUMENT. When this document is properly completed and filed, 
Default has been applied for and entered. The Default will be effective ten (10) days after the filing of this completed 
document, unless the Respondent files an Answer/Response or otherwise defends before the ten day period expires. 

 
 
1. I am the Petitioner in this court case. I understand and make the following statements under oath. I give notice 

that I am requesting entry of default against the other party, the Respondent because they have not filed an 
Answer/Response. 

 
2. Service of the court papers on Respondent has been accomplished as follows:  (check ONLY one box) 
 

 The Respondent has signed an “Acceptance of Service” and has accepted service of the 
“Summons,” Complaint or Petition and other papers.  The Respondent has not filed an 
“Answer/Response,” or otherwise appeared or defended in this court case.  Default may be entered.  

   OR 
     I have served the Respondent according to law with the “Summons,” Complaint or Petition and other 

papers. Respondent has not appeared, answered, responded or otherwise defended in the time 
required by law. 

 
3. The Respondent is either not in the active military service of the United States or has otherwise waived 

his/her rights under the Service Members Civil Relief Act (formerly “Soldier's and Sailor's Civil Relief Act”). 
 

4. By completing the Certificate of Mailing or Delivery at the bottom of this form, I certify that I am mailing or 
delivering a copy of this Application and Affidavit to the Respondent as notice that I have applied for default 
and default has been entered in this court case. 
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NOTE:  If the Respondent fails to file a responsive pleading or otherwise defend in this action within 10 days of the 
filing of this Application, a default judgment will be entered. The Petitioner must still attend the default hearing at the 
court. 
 
 
   
Date  Signature 
 
State of Arizona   ) 
    ) 
County of                                   ) 
 

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO before me this  day of , 20  

by     
Name of Signer 

   
Commission Expires   Notary Public 
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ENTRY OF DEFAULT 
 
It appearing to the Clerk of this Court from the “Application of Default and Entry of Default” that the respondent in 
this action, having been regularly served with process (or waived the same) has failed to plead or otherwise defend as 
to the Petition for Dissolution, Annulment, Legal Separation, Paternity, Legal Decision-Making or Parenting Time on file 
in this action, and the time allowed having expired, the default of the respondent is hereby entered. This default shall 
not be effective if respondent pleads or otherwise defends prior to the expiration of ten (10) days from the date hereof. 
 
 

GIVEN UNDER MY HAND AND SEAL OF THE COURT       
Date

  
 

CHAD A. ROCHE 
Clerk of the Superior Court 

By  
 Deputy Clerk

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

CERTIFICATE OF MAILING OR DELIVERY 
 
 
On (date)                                            a copy of this document was (check ONLY one box): 
 

Mailed postage pre-paid, OR   
 

Delivered by                                                                 (name of person who did the delivery) to the  
 
Respondent at the following: 
 
Address:                                                                                   
 
                                                                         
                                                                            
Signed:                                                                         



Revised 01.28.13 

 
DECREE 

FOR DIVORCE OF MARRIAGE WITH CHILDREN 
 
 

 
 
 

PINAL COUNTY 
NON-COVENANT MARRIAGE 

 
 

To Get the Divorce Order/Decree 
 
 

INSTRUCTIONS AND FORMS 
 

Provided as a Public Service by 
CHAD A. ROCHE 

Clerk of the Superior Court 
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DECREE FOR DISSOLUTION 
FOR A NON-COVENANT MARRIAGE 

 
This packet contains court forms and instructions to get a decree of divorce for a non-covenant marriage 
with children. The documents should appear in order as follows. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Order 

 
                                                 Title 

 
   # of Pages 

1 Table of Contents (this page) 1 

2 Instructions: How to fill out the “Decree of Dissolution with Children” 5 

3 “Decree of Dissolution with Children” 12 

Following Documents: Please Refer to Your Copies From “Petition For Dissolution Packet” 

4 “Parenting Plan” (Please Attach Copy of Your Original File)  

5 “Child Support Worksheet” (Please Attach Copy of Your Original File)  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

You have permission to use these documents for any lawful purpose.  These forms shall not be used to engage in the 
unauthorized practice of law.  The Court assumes no responsibility and accepts no liability for actions taken by users 
of these documents, including reliance on their contents.  The documents are under continual revision and are 
current only for the day they were received. It is strongly recommended that you verify on a regular basis that you 
have the most current documents. 
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INSTRUCTIONS 

Decree of Dissolution (Divorce) For a Non-Covenant Marriage with Minor Children 
 
Use these instructions only with the “Decree of Dissolution of a Non-Covenant Marriage (Divorce) With 
Minor Children.”  If there are no minor children, by birth or adoption, common to you and your spouse, use 
the form for a “Decree of Dissolution of a Non-Covenant Marriage without Minor Children.” 
 
What the Decree Means to You. The Decree is the Court Order that legally ends your marriage. The Decree, 
once the judge or commissioner has signed it, is important because it determines the rights and 
responsibilities of both you and your ex-spouse. It tells the parties what they can and cannot do.  If either party 
does not do what the Decree tells him/her to do, then the other party may ask the court for help. This is a very 
important document. Once it has been signed by the judge, your rights and responsibilities are affected 
forever.  
 
Failure to do what the Decree tells you to do could get you into trouble with the court.  This does not 
mean that the court will police whether you are following the Decree.  It does mean you or your ex-spouse can 
request a Contempt Order or an Order to enforce parts of the Decree if you or your ex-spouse fails to do what 
the Decree tells you to do. 
 
Getting Your Divorce Finalized. Before your divorce can become final, a judicial officer must sign what we 
call a Decree of Dissolution of Marriage. The Decree tells you who will get the property, who pays the debts, 
who gets Legal Decision-Making, who pays support and so forth. 
 
Divorce by Default.  If you have a Default Hearing, you must repeat as closely as possible what you 
requested in your Petition.  You cannot mark something different in the Decree from what you asked for in 
the Petition, unless your spouse has provided written consent.  If you try to do this, the judicial officer will not 
sign the Decree.  If you want to change your requests to the court, you must file an amended Petition.  It is a 
good idea to have your Petition handy when you follow the instructions to fill out your Decree. 
 
The Decree. Fill out the Decree before you go to your hearing or before you give it to the judge to sign.  Do 
not fill in the judge's signature and date. If the judge disagrees with anything you have written, he or she will 
change it before signing the Decree.   
 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR FILLING OUT THE DECREE 

(The section number in front of each paragraph below corresponds with the section number on the Decree.  
For example: Read Section 1-3d below.  Turn to Sections 1-3d on the Decree.  Each section below will help 
you fill out each section of the Decree.) TYPE OR WRITE IN BLACK INK ONLY. 

 

SECTION: INSTRUCTION 
(A) Write in the name of the person filing the document or the lawyer’s name, current address, city, state, 

zip code, and the telephone number.  If you have an ATLAS number, write in the number. If you are 
represented by an attorney write in the lawyer’s state bar number, then indicate whether you 
represent yourself or if you are the lawyer whether you represent Petitioner or Respondent. 
 

(B) Write in the name of the Petitioner and the name of the Respondent and the case number in the 
space provided.  This should appear the same way it does on the Petition. 

 

(C)  THE COURT FINDS:  
1-3 a-d. This section tells you that before the judge or commissioner signs the Decree, he/she will have 

determined that the court has the legal power to make the orders in your case. It also says that the 
Petitioner or the Respondent lived in Arizona at least 90 days before the Petition for divorce was filed, 
and that the parties are unable to get back together and save their marriage.   
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Also, if you served the other party by publication, the court cannot sign a Decree that divides 
community property and/or debt, or orders the other party to pay spousal maintenance (alimony) or 
child support until you find and serve notice on your spouse.  You will, however, be able to get a court 
order for Legal Decision-Making of your minor children and a divorce decree. 
 

3e. Community Property and Debt.  Mark the first box only if you and your spouse did not get any 
property together while you were married and do not owe money to anyone for property or services 
you got while you were married.  Otherwise, mark the box that tells the court that the parties have not 
agreed to a division, but the community property is divided pursuant to the Decree. 

 
3f. Pregnancy.  Mark the first box if the wife is not pregnant. Mark the second box if the wife is pregnant 

and then mark whether the husband is the father.  Mark the third box if the parties had any children 
together that were born before the marriage. Then list the name and date of birth for those children. 

  
3g. Spousal Maintenance/Support.  Mark this box if you have requested spousal maintenance/ support 

(alimony) in the Petitioner you have had a trial and the judge has ordered one party to pay spousal 
maintenance/support. 

 
3h. Parent Information Program.  Mark this box only if the Petitioner has completed the Parent 

Information Program class and has filed the Certificate of Completion with the court.  If the Petitioner 
has not attended the class, check the appropriate box.  Follow the same instructions for the 
Respondent.  Leave the box empty for the judicial officer to check as to whether the person will be 
denied any requested relief to enforce or modify the decree until the class has been completed. 

 
3i. Deviation from Child Support.  Leave this section blank.  The judicial officer will fill in this section if 

there is a deviation for child support. 
 

3j. Physical Legal Decision-Making Adjustment.  Leave this section blank.  The judicial officer will fill 
in this section if there is an adjustment. 

 
3k. Ability to Pay Child Support.  Leave this section blank.  The judicial officer will fill in this section. 

 
3l. Legal Decision-Making of the Minor Child(ren).  Mark this box only if Legal Decision-Making was 

contested (you and the other party did not agree about Legal Decision-Making), or if you and the other 
party have agreed to joint Legal Decision-Making.  You must write the reasons in the space provided. 
  

3m. Supervised or No Parenting Time.  Mark this box only if you asked for supervised or no parenting 
time by the non-custodial spouse in your Petition, or the parties have agreed to this, or the judge has 
ordered supervised or no parenting time after a trial. You must have a very good reason for such a 
request and you must write the reasons in the space provided.   
 

3n. Domestic Violence.  If the parties are going to have joint Legal Decision-Making of the child(ren), 
check the box to say whether there has been no domestic violence or if domestic violence has 
occurred it has not been significant. Then explain why joint Legal Decision-Making is in the best 
interest of the child(ren) even though domestic violence has occurred. 

 
(D) THE COURT ORDERS: 
1. MARRIAGE IS DISSOLVED.  This section ends your marriage. 

 
2. NAMES.  Write in the former name of the wife/husband here ONLY if wife or husband wants to use 

and/or be called by the former/maiden name. (The law does not require you to use your 
former/maiden name.) 

 
3. ENFORCEMENT OF TEMPORARY ORDERS.  If the court ordered temporary payment of child 

support, spousal maintenance/support (alimony), debt division, or other temporary orders, fill in the 
dates of ALL of the temporary orders.  This section allows you to enforce nonpayment of those debts. 
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4. CHILD LEGAL DECISION-MAKING, PARENTING TIME, and CHILD SUPPORT.  This section deals 
with child Legal Decision-Making, parenting time and child support, pregnancy and paternity.   

 
4a. PREGNANCY and PATERNITY.  If the wife is pregnant, write in the expected date of birth for the 

unborn child. You must also write the names of the minor child(ren) common to the marriage, either 
natural or adopted, and the child(ren)'s date(s) of birth in the space provided.     

 
4b. CHILD LEGAL DECISION-MAKING. The Legal Decision-Making box you mark should be the same 

as what you asked for in your Petition for Dissolution, unless you and the other party have signed a 
Joint Legal Decision-Making Agreement and you are attaching it to the Decree OR you have had a 
trial and the judge has ordered something different than what is in your Petition. 
i. For sole Legal Decision-Making of the child(ren), mark who is to have sole Legal Decision-

Making, Petitioner or Respondent. Then mark only one of the three types of parenting time: 
1) parenting time to the parent not having Legal Decision-Making; or 2) supervised; or 3) no 
parenting time.   If both spouses agree to a Parenting Plan, both must complete the Plan and 
sign it.  If only one spouse agrees to the Parenting Plan and you have a default divorce 
hearing, you still must complete the Parenting Plan and tell the Court what you think should 
be the parenting time arrangement.  If parenting time is supervised and you have a default 
hearing or you agree, write in the name of person who will supervise the parenting time and 
any restrictions.  Mark who will be paying for the costs of supervision.  If no parenting time is 
to be given to the Petitioner or the Respondent, check this box. 

 
ii. For Joint Legal Decision-Making you should not have marked box 1 above.  Remember, you 

must attach a copy of the Joint Legal Decision-Making Agreement and Parenting Plan as 
Exhibit B signed by both parents, which the judicial officer must approve if you want Joint 
Legal Decision-Making. The Agreement will be included as part of the Court Order ending 
your marriage. 

 

4c. CHILD SUPPORT:  Mark who is to pay the child support and how much to the other party based on 
the request in the Petition for Dissolution, or on the party’s agreement.  Otherwise, leave the space 
blank and the judicial officer will fill in the amount.  Remember, if you are the person who filed for 
divorce, you are the Petitioner, and your spouse is the Respondent. 

 
4d. MEDICAL, DENTAL, VISION CARE INSURANCE, PAYMENTS and EXPENSES:  Mark who will be 

responsible for medical, dental and vision care insurance. Mark what percent each party will pay for 
uninsured expenses. 

 
5. SPOUSAL MAINTENANCE (ALIMONY). 
5a.  Mark this box if neither party is requesting spousal maintenance. 
5b.  Mark this box if you requested spousal maintenance (alimony) in the Petition and you have a Default 

Hearing.  (You cannot get spousal maintenance if the other party was served by publication.) OR, 
Mark this box if the parties agreed that one party would pay the other party spousal maintenance. 

 
Then mark who is to pay the spousal maintenance and who will receive the spousal maintenance. If 
the parties agree, put in the amount and the date the spousal maintenance will end.  Otherwise, you 
should leave the amount and number of months of spousal maintenance blank until the judge 
approves the request.  Be prepared to tell the judge what amount you are asking for, for what period, 
and why. 

 
6. PROPERTY, DEBTS and TAX RETURNS.   
6a. Mark the first two boxes, if each party will pay the debts that are unknown to the other party.  By 

marking the third box under 6.a., you are telling the court you do not want to pay for bills your spouse 
got after you separated.  Write the approximate date you separated on the line provided. 
 

6b. Mark this box if there is property and debts to be divided, even if you have already divided the 
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property.  You can give the court this information on “EXHIBIT A: COMMUNITY PROPERTY AND 
DEBTS” that you must attach to the Decree if you mark this box. Instructions for Exhibit A are 
included at the end of this instruction.  

 

6c. This states that you and your spouse get to keep property that you owned from the marriage or that 
was a gift to you during the marriage.  You also can keep any personal items, clothing, and any other 
property you own that is not considered community property. 

 
6d. This means either spouse can record the Decree if there is a transfer of title to certain property, like a 

house.  This section also requires each spouse to sign documents to transfer other property, like titles 
to cars, and so forth.  If you have a quit claim deed that transfers property from one spouse to the 
other spouse, attach a copy of the deed to the Decree, and check this box.  Write in the date that both 
parties shall transfer all real and personal property. 

 
6e. Mark this box and tell the court whether the parties will file joint or separate tax returns for previous 

years if taxes have not been paid.  For this calendar year, and future calendar years neither you nor 
your spouse can file joint tax returns.  According to the IRS, State law governs whether you are 
married, divorced, or legally separated.  If you are divorced under a final decree by the last day of the 
year, you are considered unmarried for the whole year.  See a lawyer or accountant for advice if you 
are not sure which box to check OR call the IRS at 1-800-829-4477 or visit their INTERNET site at 
www.irs.ustreas.gov  for help. 

 
7. FINANCIAL INFORMATION EXCHANGES: This shows that the parties must share/exchange 

financial information every 24 months.  This information is important in determining amounts of child 
support or other related issues. 

 
8. TAX EXEMPTIONS:  Decide which parent will claim the children on income tax forms, for which year. 

 Federal and state laws apply here.  If you are not sure what to do, ask a lawyer or an accountant for 
help.   
 

9. CHILD(REN) TO WHOM THE DECREE DOES NOT APPLY:  Mark this box only if a child(ren) was 
born during the marriage, but is not common to the marriage.  Mark which party should have no legal 
rights to the minor child(ren).  If you mark this box, list the name of any such minor child(ren) with the 
date(s) of his/her birth(s) in the space provided.  Also, mark if the wife is pregnant with a child not 
common to the marriage, and include the expected due date of the child.  

 

10. FINAL APPEALABLE ORDER.  This decree/order/judgment is a final order and may be appealed. 
 

11. OTHER ORDERS.  List any other orders that are not described in the Decree. 
 

(E) SIGNATURES SECTION:   
  Do not sign or date the Decree for the judge or commissioner 
  If there is a Default Hearing, you, the Petitioner, must mail a copy of the Decree to the   
                Respondent, after the judge has signed it. 

 

(F) “EXHIBIT A:  COMMUNITY PROPERTY and DEBT” SECTION: 
IF YOU MARKED the first box of 3.e. ON YOUR DECREE AND HAVE NO COMMUNITY 
PROPERTY OR DEBTS, STOP HERE; you have completed your Decree.  If you have community 
property or community debt listed in your Petition, copy that information from your Petition to “Exhibit 
A”.  REMEMBER:  If you are going by default, the division of property must be identical to the list in 
your petition. You cannot add new community property to the list, although you can give your spouse 
more property than is listed on your petition.  Make sure it is very clear who gets what property. 
Describe the property in detail and then designate whether Petitioner or Respondent gets that 
property. 
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 1. Division of Community Property.  Mark the first box about community property, if you have 
community property.  Mark the box next to each type of community property you own, and 
describe the property.  Then mark the box showing which party the property is being given to.  

 

2.  Mark the box “award each party the personal property in his or her possession,” if you want 
the court to order this.  Mark the box “continued on reverse side or see attached list” if this is 
true. 

 

 3. Retirement, Pension, Deferred Compensation.  Decide what you want to do about these 
assets.  Generally, each spouse is entitled up to a half interest in the pension or retirement or 
deferred compensation benefits of the other spouse based upon the length of time the parties 
were married.  This is very complicated, and very important to both spouses.  If you are 
entitled to any interest in your spouse’s retirement assets, you may be required to file a 
Qualified Domestic Relations Order.  

  

 This is a very important document.  The Court does not have this document.  See a 
lawyer for help.  Check the box that describes what you asked for in the Petition or what the 
parties have agreed to. 

 

 4. Division of Real Property:  Use this section if you own a home or real estate together.  This 
information, including the address and legal description should also be the same as what you 
provided in the Petition. Decide which spouse gets the property, OR whether it should be sold 
and any proceeds divided.   

 

 5. Division of Debts:  List all debts you listed on your Petition for Dissolution.  You can update 
the amounts owed, only if the amounts are less than those amounts in the Petition or the 
parties agree to update the amounts.  Then put which debts are to be the responsibilities of 
which party. 

 

Also, decide if you want the order to divide debts incurred by a spouse that are not listed to 
be paid by the spouse who incurred the debt.  Remember, just because the Decree orders 
either spouse to pay debts does not mean that the creditor cannot pursue collection from the 
other spouse, even after the divorce decree.   

 

 6. Separate Property.  List your separate property and the other party’s separate property.  
Then check the box to say who gets the property. 

 

 7. Separate Debt.  List your separate debt and the other party’s separate debt.  Then check the 
box to say who pays the debt. 

 

PARENTING PLAN and JOINT LEGAL DECISION-MAKING AGREEMENT 
Now you must complete the Parenting Plan to decide how Legal Decision-Making, parenting time, and all 
the details will work after the court order. The best thing to do is for both parents to complete this plan 
together. 
 

Refer to “Planning for Parenting Time: Arizona’s Guide for Parents Living Apart” to help make your new 
parenting plan. The Guide may be viewed online and downloaded for free from the state courts’ web page at: 
http://goo.gl/46aAw 
 

If you want Joint Legal Decision-Making, both parents must complete and sign the Parenting Plan AND 
the Joint Legal Decision-Making Agreement.  
 

REMINDER: 
1. Be sure to attach “EXHIBIT A” about property and debts to your decree.   
2. Be sure to attach the Child Support Worksheet, and the Parenting Plan, if you have marked 

joint Legal Decision-Making or if the parties have signed a Parenting Plan. 
3. Be sure to include a quit claim deed, if a quit claim deed has been signed.  
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(A)    
Name of Person Filing:                       
Street Address:                       
City, State, Zip Code:                       
Telephone Number:                       
Email Address:                       
ATLAS Number (if applicable)                       

 Representing Self (No Attorney) or   Represented by Attorney   
If Attorney, Bar Number:                       

 
SUPERIOR COURT OF ARIZONA 

PINAL COUNTY 
 

                    (B) CASE NUMBER:                    
Name of Petitioner 
  DECREE OF DISSOLUTION OF MARRIAGE 

(DIVORCE) WITH MINOR CHILDREN 

                     

Name of Respondent  HONORABLE:                     
 

THE COURT FINDS: (C) 
       
1. This case has come before this court for a final “Decree of Dissolution of Marriage with Minor 

Children.” The court has taken all testimony needed to enter a Decree, or the court has determined 
testimony is not needed to enter the Decree. 

 
2. This court has jurisdiction over the parties under the law and the provisions of this Decree are fair and 

reasonable under the circumstances, and are in the best interests of the minor child(ren) as to Legal 
Decision-Making, parenting time, and support. 

 
SERVICE BY PUBLICATION: 
If Respondent was served by publication and was not personally served, this court cannot make a legal 
order, with respect to issues of child support, medical and dental insurance, payments, expenses for the 
minor child(ren), community property or debt, or spousal maintenance/support. The court reserves 
jurisdiction until personal service is made upon Respondent to consider the maintenance/support of either 
spouse, the disposition of community property or debts, child support, and any other relief requested in 
the Petition or orders deemed necessary by the court. 

 
3. THE COURT FURTHER FINDS THAT: 
 

a. 90 Day Requirement: At the time this action was filed, the Petitioner or the Respondent had lived 
in Arizona for more than 90 days, or had lived in Arizona while a member of the United States 
Armed Forces for more than 90 days. 
 

b. Conciliation Court:  The provisions relating to the Conciliation Court either do not apply or have 
been met.  

 
c. Irretrievably Broken: The marriage is irretrievably broken or the parties desire to live separate 

and apart. The marriage is not a covenant marriage. 
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d. Legal Decision-Making, Support, Spousal Maintenance/Support, Division of Property and 
Debt:  Where it has the legal power and where it is applicable to the facts of this case, this court 
has considered, approved, and made Orders relating to issues of child Legal Decision-Making, 
parenting time, child support, spousal maintenance/support (alimony), and the division of property 
and/or debts. 
 

e. Community Property and Debt: (Select One) 
 The parties DID NOT acquire any community property or debt during the marriage, 

OR 
 The parties HAVE agreed to a division of community property and/or debt as evidenced 

by their signatures on “Exhibit A” attached to and incorporated into this Decree. 
 

 The parties HAVE NOT agreed as to division of community property and debt, but all 
community property and debt is divided pursuant to this Decree. 

f. Pregnancy or Paternity: (Select one.) 
 Wife is not pregnant, OR 

 
 Wife is pregnant, and the husband   IS OR  IS NOT the father of the child. 

 
 The husband is the father of these children born to the parties before the marriage: 

 
Name(s)  Date(s) of Birth 
   
   
   

 
g. Spousal Maintenance/Support.  (Select one.) 

 The Petitioner, OR 
 

 The Respondent lacks enough property, including given to him or her as part of this 
divorce, to provide for his or her reasonable needs, and is unable to support himself or 
herself through an appropriate job, or he or she is providing the primary care to a 
child(ren) of young age or is of a condition that they should not be required to look for 
work outside the home, or lacks earning ability necessary to support himself or herself, or 
contributed significantly to the educational opportunities of the other spouse, or had a 
marriage that lasted a long time and is of an age that may severely limit the possibility of 
getting a job to support himself or herself. 

 

h. Parent Information Program.  
1.  Petitioner has attended the Parent Information Program class as evidenced by the 

“Certificate of Completion” in the court file. OR 
 

 Petitioner has not attended the Parent Information Program class and  shall be denied 
any requested relief to enforce or modify this decree until Petitioner has completed the 
class. 

 
2.   Respondent has attended the Parent Information Program class as evidenced by the 

“Certificate of Completion” in the court file. OR 
 

 Respondent has not attended the Parent Information Program class and  shall be 
denied any requested relief to enforce or modify this decree until Petitioner has completed 
the class. 
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i. Deviation from Child Support. The court, having considered the best interests of the minor 
child(ren), deviates from the guidelines for the following reasons: 
 

  Application of the guidelines is inappropriate 
 Application of the guidelines is unjust 

The court makes the following finding regarding the deviation: 
 

 The child support order would have been $       
 The child support order after deviation is $       

             
j. Physical Legal Decision-Making Adjustment. Court Approved Discretionary Parenting Time 

Adjustment and/or other Adjustments. (The court must make written findings if any of these 
adjustments are made.) :  
        
      

k. Ability to Pay Child Support. The Court finds that the person responsible for paying child 
support has the ability to pay child support: 
 

 In the amount entered on Line 34 of the Worksheet of $       
   

 In an adjusted amount calculated using the self-support reserve on line 35 of the 
Worksheet for $       
  

l. Legal Decision-Making of Minor Child(ren). (Check/complete only if Legal Decision-Making is 
contested or joint Legal Decision-Making is ordered.) 

   

 The Legal Decision-Making order or agreement is in the best interests of the minor 
child(ren) for the following reasons: (List the reasons.)       
       
      
 

m. Supervised or No Parenting Time. (Check and complete only if supervised or no Parenting 
Time is ordered.) 
 

  Supervised Parenting Time between the minor children and 
 Petitioner OR Respondent, 

OR 
 No Parenting Time by  Petitioner OR  Respondent, is in the best interest of the 

child(ren), for the following reasons: (Explain the reasons) 
      
      
      
 

n. Domestic Violence. If the court enters an order for joint Legal Decision-Making of the child(ren), 
check box “1” or box “2” and explain. 
 

1.  Domestic violence has not occurred during this marriage, OR 
2.  Domestic violence has occurred during this marriage. 

Explain why joint Legal Decision-Making is in the best interest of the minor child(ren) 
even though domestic violence has occurred:  
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THE COURT ORDERS: (D) 
 

1. MARRIAGE IS DISSOLVED:  The marriage of the parties is dissolved and the parties are restored to the 
legal status of single persons. 

   
 
        

2. NAMES:    
 The name of the  Wife OR    The Husband, whose complete married name is: 

                  
 

Is restored to:  (List the complete legal name or maiden name as before the marriage) 
                 

 
3. ENFORCEMENT OF TEMPORARY ORDERS: All obligations ordered to be paid by the parties in 

Temporary Orders dated (fill in dates of ALL temporary orders here) 
      
      

 
are satisfied in full OR  judgment is awarded against the party with the obligation up to the amount due 
and owing as of the date of this Decree, with the highest legal interest allowed by law, for the total amount 
of  $       

 
4. CHILD LEGAL DECISION-MAKING, PARENTING TIME, AND CHILD SUPPORT:   

 
a.  PREGNANCY AND PATERNITY: 

A child who is common to the parties is expected to be born this date:                      . All orders 
below as to Legal Decision-Making, parenting time, support, and medical insurance/expenses 
include this minor child and all other minor children named below. 
 

i. MINOR CHILDREN: This Decree includes all minor children common to the parties as 
follows: 

      
Name(s) Of Minor Child(ren)   Date(s) of Birth  

             

             

             
 

ii.  PATERNITY: The husband is declared to be the father of the minor children named 
below, born before the marriage: 
 

Children Born BEFORE the Marriage  Date(s) of Birth/Social Security No.

             

             

             
 
FOR ANY MINOR CHILD(REN) BORN IN THE STATE OF ARIZONA, THE CLERK OF COURT 
SHALL FORWARD A COPY OF THIS ORDER TO THE OFFICE OF VITAL RECORDS, WHICH 
IS ORDERED TO AMEND THE BIRTH CERTIFICATE(S) AS FOLLOWS: 
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iii.  The father’s name shall be entered on the minor child’s birth certificate. 
 

 NAME CHANGE: (Optional) The names of one or more of the minor children for whom 
paternity has been established above shall be changed as follows: 
 

Current Legal Name  New Name 

             

             

             
 

b. CHILD LEGAL DECISION-MAKING: (Select one)  
 

i.   SOLE LEGAL DECISION-MAKING:  Sole Legal Decision-Making of the minor child(ren) is 
awarded to:       Petitioner, OR  Respondent, subject to 
Parenting Time as follows: 

 
 Parenting Time to the parent not having Legal Decision-Making, 

according to the terms of the Parenting Plan attached as “Exhibit B” and made 
a part of this Decree. OR, 

 
 No Parenting Time rights to  Petitioner OR  Respondent. OR 

 
 Supervised Parenting Time to  Petitioner OR  Respondent according to 

the terms of the Parenting Plan attached as “Exhibit B”.  Parenting Time may 
only take place in the presence of another person, named below or otherwise 
approved by the court. 

     
    (See Option b.ii for Joint Legal Decision-Making) 

Name of supervisor (if applicable): 
     

 
Restrictions on parenting time (if applicable): 
     
      
      
      

           
  OR 

ii.  JOINT LEGAL DECISION-MAKING:  Petitioner and Respondent agree to act as joint 
custodians of the minor child(ren), as set forth in the Joint Legal Decision-Making 
Agreement/Parenting Plan by the parties, signed by both parties and attached to this Decree 
as “Exhibit B.” There have been no significant acts of Domestic Violence by either parent. 
The court adopts the terms of the Joint Legal Decision-Making Agreement/Parenting Plan 
describing the Legal Decision-Making and Parenting Time agreement between the parties. 
By attaching the Joint Legal Decision-Making Agreement/Parenting Plan to the Decree, the 
Agreement becomes part of the Decree and carries the same legal weight as the Decree. 

 
c. CHILD SUPPORT:  Petitioner OR  Respondent shall pay child support to the other party in 

the amount of $                   per month, beginning THE FIRST DAY OF THE MONTH following the 
date this Decree is signed by the judge until further order of the court.  Child Support is based on 
the information in the Parent’s Worksheet for Child Support Amount attached hereto and 
incorporated by reference. All child support payments shall be made by wage assignment (if 
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applicable) through the Support Payment Clearinghouse, and must include the statutory fee by 
the Order of Assignment signed this date.  Payments will be in equal installments made on the 1st 
and 15th of each month. 

d. MEDICAL, DENTAL, VISION CARE FOR MINOR CHILDREN: 
 

 Petitioner is responsible for providing:         Medical   Dental  Vision Care Insurance 
 Respondent is responsible for providing:  Medical   Dental  Vision Care Insurance 
   
Medical, dental, and vision care insurance, payments and expenses are based on the information in 
the Parent’s Worksheet for Child Support attached and incorporated by reference. The party ordered 
to pay must keep the other party informed of the insurance company name, address and telephone 
number, and must give the other party the documents necessary to submit insurance claims. 

  
NON-COVERED EXPENSES: 

  Petitioner is ordered to pay             % 
 Respondent is ordered to pay             % 

Of all reasonable uncovered and/or uninsured medical, dental, vision care, prescription and other 
health care charges for the minor child(ren), including co-payments. 

 
5. SPOUSAL MAINTENANCE/SUPPORT: 

 
a.   Neither party shall pay spousal maintenance/support (alimony) to the other party, OR 
  
b.   Petitioner OR 
 

Respondent 
Is ordered to pay to the other party the sum of $                per month in spousal 
maintenance/support BEGINNING THE FIRST DAY OF THE MONTH after this Decree is signed. 
Each payment shall be made by the first day of each month after that and shall continue until the 
receiving party is remarried or deceased or until (date)                        . All payments shall be 
made through the Clerk of this Court by automatic wage assignment, until all required payments 
have been made under this Decree. Payments made shall be included in receiving spouse’s 
taxable income and is tax deductible from the paying spouse’s income as required by law.  
Spousal maintenance/support payments end if the receiving party is remarried or deceased. 

 
6. PROPERTY, DEBTS AND TAX RETURNS: (Select any that apply.) 
 

a.  Petitioner is ordered to pay all debts unknown to Respondent. 
  Respondent is ordered to pay all debts unknown to Petitioner. 
  Each party is ordered to pay his or her debts from the following date,                    . 

 
b.  Other orders and relief relating to property or debt, if any, are contained in “Exhibit A”, which 

is attached and incorporated into this Decree. 
 
c.   Each party is assigned his or her separate property and Petitioner must pay his/her separate 

debt, and Respondent must pay his/her separate debt.  
 
d.   This Decree can be used as a transfer of title and can be recorded.  Parties shall sign all 

documents necessary to complete all transfer of title ordered in this Decree, such as motor 
vehicles, houses, and financial institution accounts. The parties shall transfer all real and personal 
property as described in “Exhibit A” to the other party on or before                    by 5:00 p.m. 
 
If the party required to transfer the property has not transferred the property to the party entitled 
to receive the property on or before the date and time listed above, the party entitled to receive 
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the property is entitled upon application to a Writ of Assistance or Writ of Execution to be issued 
by the Clerk of the Court commanding the sheriff to put him or her in possession of the property.  

  
e.  For previous calendar years, pursuant to IRS rules and regulations, the parties will file: 

  Joint federal and state income tax returns and hold each other harmless from half of 
all income taxes and costs, if any, and each party will share equally in tax refunds, if any,  

OR 
     Separate federal and state income tax returns. 

AND 
  This calendar year and continuing thereafter, each party will file separate federal and state 

income tax returns.  
AND 

    Each party shall give the other party all necessary documentation to file all tax returns. 
 
7. FINANCIAL INFORMATION EXCHANGES: The parties shall exchange financial information (tax returns, 

spousal affidavits, earning statements and/or other related financial statements) every 
twenty-four months. 

 
8. TAX EXEMPTION: The parties shall claim as income tax dependency exemptions on federal and state 

tax returns as follows. A party required to pay child support is only entitled to claim minor child(ren) as an 
income tax dependency exemption if that parent has paid all of the child support due and owing for the 
year that party is entitled to the exemption: 
 
Parent Entitled To Claim  Name of Child  Tax Year 

 Petitioner  Respondent               
 Petitioner  Respondent               
 Petitioner  Respondent               
 Petitioner  Respondent               
 Petitioner  Respondent               

 
9. MINOR CHILDREN TO WHOM THIS DECREE DOES NOT APPLY: It is ordered that  

 Petitioner, OR  
 Respondent has no legal obligation or right to the minor child(ren) born during the marriage but not 

common to the marriage.  These minor children include:  (Use additional paper if necessary)  
  

Name:        Birth Date:       
Name:        Birth Date:       
Child expected to be born this date:          

 
10. FINAL APPEALABLE ORDER:  Pursuant to Arizona Rules of Family Law Procedure, Rule 81, this 

final judgment/decree is settled, approved and signed by the court and shall be entered by the 
clerk. 
 

11. OTHER ORDERS: (List any other orders.) 
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SIGNATURES (E) 
 
 

DONE IN OPEN COURT:       
 
 

  
 JUDGE OR COURT COMMISSIONER 

 
 
 
If this Decree was issued as a “Default,” and the Petitioner served the papers to begin this case by any means 
other than by publication, a copy of this Decree shall be mailed or delivered to the Respondent within 24 hours of 
the court hearing as follows: 
 
 

Respondent’s Name:       

Mailing Address:       

City, State, Zip Code:       

Email Address:       

By Petitioner:       

Date:       
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EXHIBIT A: PROPERTY AND DEBTS (F) 
 

1. DIVISION OF COMMUNITY PROPERTY: (property acquired during the marriage)  
  

 Award each party the personal property in his/her possession.  
 

 Community property is awarded to each party as follows: 
 

 2. LIST OF COMMUNITY PROPERTY: (Be very specific in your description of the property.) 
  

 AWARD TO 
Household Furniture and Appliances   (Be specific) Petitioner   Respondent 

        

        

        

        

        

        

        
  

 Video: TV / DVD / DVR / VCR, etc. (Be specific)  

        

        

        

        
         

Audio: Stereo/ Radio (Household or Portable) (Be specific)  

        

        

        
      

Computers and Related Equipment (Be specific)  

        

        

        
 

Motor Vehicles (Be specific)  

1. Year, Make, Model:         

     Last 4 digits of VIN #         
  

2. Year, Make, Model:         

     Last 4 digits of VIN #         
  

3. Year, Make, Model:         

    Last 4 digits of VIN #         
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 AWARD TO 
COMMUNITY PROPERTY: - continued (Be specific) Petitioner   Respondent 

   

Cash, bonds of $         

Other:         

Other:         

Other:         

Other:         

Other:         

  Continues on attached page(s). 
 

           
3. DIVISION OF RETIREMENT, PENSION, DEFERRED COMPENSATION: 
 

(WARNING. You should see a lawyer about your retirement, pension, deferred compensation, 401k 
plans and/or benefits.  If you do not see a lawyer regarding these assets, you risk losing any 
interest you have in these plans and/or benefits.  There are certain documents the plan 
administrator must have.  Only a lawyer can help you prepare these documents.) 

 
 Neither party has a retirement, pension, deferred compensation, 401K Plan and/or benefits. 

       OR 
 Award each party his/her interest in any and all retirement benefits, pension plans, or other 

deferred compensation described as: 
 

 
      OR 
       

 Each party WAIVES AND GIVES UP his/her interest in any and all retirement benefits, pension 
plans, or other deferred compensation of the other party: 

 
4. DIVISION OF REAL PROPERTY: (Land and Buildings) Section A is for one piece of property.  Section B 

is for another, separate property.   
 

A. Real property located at (address) 
      
      
The legal description of this property, as quoted from the DEED to the property* is: 
      
      
      

 * If you do not provide a correct legal description, you may have to come back to court to 
amend the Decree to include the correct legal description. 

 
  The real property (“A”) described above is awarded as the sole and separate property of: 

 

   Petitioner   or   Respondent OR 
 Shall be sold and the proceeds divided as follows: 

 
     % or $      To Petitioner. 
     % or $      To Respondent. 
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B. Real property located at (address) 
      
      
The legal description of this property, as quoted from the DEED to the property* is: 
      
      
      

 * If you do not provide a correct legal description, you may have to come back to court to 
amend the Decree to include the correct legal description. 

 
  The real property (“B”) described above is awarded as the sole and separate property of: 

 

   Petitioner   or   Respondent OR 
 Shall be sold and the proceeds divided as follows: 

 
     % or $      To Petitioner. 
     % or $      To Respondent. 

 
  Continues on attached page. 
 
          

5. DIVISION OF COMMUNITY DEBT: (Debts incurred during the marriage) (You should see a lawyer about 
how to divide secured and unsecured debts.) 
                  

Community debts shall be divided as follows: 
 

 
Amount to 
be paid by 
Petitioner  

 

Amount to 
be paid by 

Respondent 
 

Creditor Name  Amount Owed  

       

 

$      

 

$      $      

       $      $      $      

       $      $      $      

       $      $      $      

       $      $      $      

       $      $      $      

       $      $      $      

       $      $      $      

        $       $       $      

        $       $       $      
 

 Continues on attached page. 
 
 
  Any debts or obligations incurred by either party before the date of separation, that are not 

identified in the list above or attached, shall be paid by the party who incurred the debt or 
obligation and that party shall indemnify and hold the other party harmless from such debts. 
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6. SEPARATE PROPERTY:  (Property acquired before the marriage or by gift or bequest to one party.) 
 

Property recognized as the separate property of the Petitioner or Respondent, is assigned below: 
                         

Description 

 

Value 

 

To 
Petitioner 

 

To 
Respondent

      $        

      $        

      $        

      $        

       $          

       $          

       $          
      
7. SEPARATE DEBT:  (Debt acquired before the marriage.) 

 
Debt recognized as the separate debt of the Petitioner or Respondent, is assigned below: 
           

Creditor Name 

 

Debt 
Amount 

 

Petitioner 
Pays 

 

Respondent 
Pays 

      $        

      $        

      $        

       $          

       $          

       $          

       $          
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